Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: engine trouble?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
DRPHIL914
J confused24.gif Bad news! headbang.gif
saturday something gave out or blew out. Don't know what. At first it sounded like a exhaust leak louder on acceleration, letting of at first seemed ok then got louder. Im no engine mechanic but it I a valve and/or piston problem. Very specifically from the right side. I think rear cylinder.
I am in beaufort sc so need to find someone close.
I put new s.s.h.e. with triad exhaust on 1500 miles ago no problems it is not an exhaust leak. More of a clank confused24.gif

So it is a 75 2.0 with 130,000 d jet had been running great. Last 3tanks got 32-35 mpg! No leaks and oil use. I've had 1 year. If I have to take this apart I think I want something like. The 2056? Upgrade cam thing like jake rang does. So jake how much? For simple upgrade cam with valve.piston. head don't know yet but I thought it was running great. I do not drive it hard. Just became a d.d. to/ from work.
I do not have the ability to lift high enough to drop the engine myself.
any advice on where to take it? 5 horst from atlanta, 4 from charlolette n.c.

Help!
Phil
dr914@autoatlanta.com
I will be in Hilton Head this weekend for the concours. Maybe I can drop by and listen to the engine, Phil.

QUOTE(Philip W. @ Nov 2 2010, 08:03 AM) *

saturday something gave out or blew out. Don't know what. At first it sounded like a exhaust leak louder on acceleration, letting of at first seemed ok then got louder. Im no engine mechanic but it I a valve and/or piston problem. Very specifically from the right side. I think rear cylinder.
I put new s.s.h.e. with triad exhaust on 1500 miles ago no problems it is not an exhaust leak. More of a clank confused24.gif