Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Brake system overhaul, Proportioning Valve
Elliot_Cannon
post Apr 22 2003, 11:43 AM
Post #1

Group: Retired Members
Member No.: 480
Region Association: None

Hi,
I'm fairly new to 914s and this web site, so I think this topic has probably been discussed before. I'm working to restore this 73 914 and have done the suspension and most of the brakes. All new brake lines, calipers and 19mm master cylinder. I installed BMW 320i calipers in the front. I would like to replace the rear brake proportioning valve with a "T" fitting. I finally have the engine out and will be finishing up the rear brake lines after some welding is done. What do you think of replacing the valve with the "T"??
I've seen some great discussions on this site and have learned a lot and hope to learn more. I can't wait to get this car back on the road. Thanks in advance for the advice.
Cheers, Elliot
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SirAndy
post Apr 22 2003, 12:04 PM
Post #2

Resident German

Group: Admin
Member No.: 179
Region Association: Northern California

i just put the "T" into my car a week ago. no driving experience yet, but the word is that with a major brake upgrade (in my case '86 911 Carrera), the stock bias does not allow enough pressure to the rear brakes. therefore the "T" gives you a better overall brake performance.

Andy
+Quote Post
Brad Roberts
post Apr 22 2003, 03:26 PM
Post #3

914 Freak!

Group: Members
Member No.: 8

Elliot,