Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Brake system overhaul
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Elliot_Cannon
Hi,
I'm fairly new to 914s and this web site, so I think this topic has probably been discussed before. I'm working to restore this 73 914 and have done the suspension and most of the brakes. All new brake lines, calipers and 19mm master cylinder. I installed BMW 320i calipers in the front. I would like to replace the rear brake proportioning valve with a "T" fitting. I finally have the engine out and will be finishing up the rear brake lines after some welding is done. What do you think of replacing the valve with the "T"??
I've seen some great discussions on this site and have learned a lot and hope to learn more. I can't wait to get this car back on the road. Thanks in advance for the advice.
Cheers, Elliot
SirAndy
i just put the "T" into my car a week ago. no driving experience yet, but the word is that with a major brake upgrade (in my case '86 911 Carrera), the stock bias does not allow enough pressure to the rear brakes. therefore the "T" gives you a better overall brake performance.

Andy
Brad Roberts
Elliot,

The T in place will balance out the new braking force you have in the front very well with the stock rears. I'm finding more and more stock prop valves heading towards failure.

B
Anton
Have you read the Tech Articles on the Pelican Parts website concerning brake physics and practice? I personally would not discard of the prop. valve. In Europe it's even forbidden; a street car will not get its annual approval (MOT, TüV, APK; depending on where you live). There are after-market, adjustable proportioning valves; wouldn't that be better? I must admit that my own 914 braking experience goes as far as a revised stock set-up, apart from a 19mm master cylinder.
airsix
QUOTE(Brad Roberts @ Apr 22 2003, 01:26 PM)
Elliot,