Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Pulled my engine and found a surprise!, AKA "Dammit!"
Andy
post Jul 7 2004, 08:46 AM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 1,194

Pulled the engine and trans out of my project last weekend and found a little surprise waiting for me. FWIW the longitudinals (sp?) have no rust issues, the battery tray was replaced with aluminum some time ago but it doesn't show much damage under that either and it's all factory paint in the engine bay, except...

(IMG:http://www.anschlagen.net/rust/rsuspass.JPG)
Now I'm no Porsche expert, but this looks pretty wrong to me. It looks like it was cut (rust removal?) and slathered in rust inhibitor. I'm guessing it's supposed to look more like the other side.
(IMG:http://www.anschlagen.net/rust/rsusdriv.JPG)

Well, one more item on the project list! Anyone dealt with this? Ideas? Opinions? (Other than I might be smart to part out this car and find another one... (IMG:style_emoticons/default/sad.gif) )
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Joe Bob
post Jul 7 2004, 09:00 AM
Post #2

Retired admin, banned a few times

Member No.: 5
Region Association: None

Well,,,,you do some welding..... (IMG:style_emoticons/default/blink.gif)

The Rocket had a smilar problem and I welded a scab plate on it.....the battery appeared to have leaked acid and it got INSIDE the two pieces of the suspension ear and rotted it from the inside out....

It's fixable....
+Quote Post
Rusty
post Jul 7 2004, 09:01 AM
Post #3

Wanted: Engine case GA003709

Group: Admin
Member No.: 6