Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Washed my hands of Jake Raby
stugray
post Jul 3 2012, 02:59 PM
Post #1

Advanced Member

Group: Members
Member No.: 10,819
Region Association: None

Ok, so I have been building a race motor for over 2 years.

I have studied everything Jake Raby has to say, following his advice and buying his products almost exclusively (if engine related). (IMG:style_emoticons/default/pray.gif)

Last week I bought (from the type IV store) a set of AA cylinders and KB hypereutectic pistons.
the instructions in the box with the pistons said that I MUST increase the upper ring gap by 20-40% over the stock piston gaps.
I measured the gaps on the hastings rings that I also purchased from Jake.
They were both (upper & lower) exactly stock .015.

I question Jake on his "Type IV store support" forum and he said that is how he uses them (stock).
So I contacted the machinist that machined the pistons "United Engine and machine co, Carson city NV."
they told me that I absolutely must increase the upper ring gap or it would break the ring and damage the piston and void the warranty.
However they said that I should contact the manufacturer of the piston to get the exact number because it is specific to the particular application.
I said I got them from Jake Raby, but the guy said that did not ring a bell. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/confused24.gif)
I gave him the part number from the box and they said that customer was "European Motor Works in Hawthorne CA."