Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Engine Condition - 2.0L
mmascari
post Oct 22 2014, 10:45 AM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 17,850
Region Association: None

I recently purchased a 1973 2.0L that I am in the process of restoring. According to the previous owner the engine hasn't run in 5 years. I drained the oil which looked OK. The other day I dropped the engine out and was going to take a look at it. My question relates to if the motor is ceased. I am able to turn the fan clockwise and counter-clockwise but only about 180 degrees. Is that normal? I am not a mechanic so I have no idea. What other things can I do or verify that the engine is good? For example, pull the heads? I will take the valve covers off today and post some pics. Thanks in advance for the advice.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
914mikee100
post Oct 22 2014, 10:53 AM
Post #2

Member No.: 14,702

Did you pull the sparkplugs before you tried to turn the fan 360 degrees? If not, you should and try again. If it moves 180, it is not seized, but you could still have something broken that is preventing full movement. Pulling the plugs first should let it go all 360.
+Quote Post
mmascari
post Oct 22 2014, 10:58 AM
Post #3

Member No.: 17,850

Yes, the plugs have been pulled. It seems to stop about 180 degrees in both directions.
+Quote Post
SLITS
post Oct 22 2014, 11:01 AM
Post #4

"This Utah shit is HARSH!"

Group: Benefactors
Member No.: 1,696

More than likely a dropped valve in a cylinder.

Try to adjust the valves.
+Quote Post
bdstone914