Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs
 
914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!
 
Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.
 

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

10 Pages V < 1 2 3 4 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Mike's attempt at having another running 914., We all know I can take things apart..now to get it all back together!
Johny Blackstain
post Oct 2 2015, 02:53 PM
Post #21


Walnut Elite Stratocaster player
****

Group: Members
Posts: 3,225
Joined: 5-December 06
From: The Shenandoah River
Member No.: 7,318
Region Association: MidAtlantic Region



Mike- I agree w/ the gang; go for the grasshopper look!
Here is the photo you asked for of my car w/ my Mahle rims fitted with Dunlop SP Sport 195/65HR15s. I have no clearance issues at all & my speedo/odometer is spot on with this tire size.


Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mueller
post Oct 2 2015, 03:13 PM
Post #22


Back in the game...trying to keep this one stockish!
***************

Group: Members
Posts: 16,483
Joined: 4-January 03
From: Antioch, CA
Member No.: 87
Region Association: None



QUOTE(Johny Blackstain @ Oct 2 2015, 01:53 PM) *

Mike- I agree w/ the gang; go for the grasshopper look!
Here is the photo you asked for of my car w/ my Mahle rims fitted with Dunlop SP Sport 195/65HR15s. I have no clearance issues at all & my speedo/odometer is spot on with this tire size.


thanks....those do look great!


QUOTE(matthepcat @ Oct 2 2015, 01:27 PM) *

I vote you do the custom drilled bolt pattern for the wheels!!



^Stop feeding the voices in my head, hahaha
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mueller
post Oct 12 2015, 10:47 PM
Post #23


Back in the game...trying to keep this one stockish!
***************

Group: Members
Posts: 16,483
Joined: 4-January 03
From: Antioch, CA
Member No.: 87
Region Association: None



Still in the hunting and gathering stages of the build.....

Picked this up tonight...$200 for low mileage '03 Passat gear box....more or less the same transmission as used in the base Boxsters, just at 1/3 the price (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)


Attached Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Chris H.
post Oct 12 2015, 11:12 PM
Post #24


don't reMember
****

Group: Members
Posts: 3,523
Joined: 2-January 03
From: Chicago 'burbs
Member No.: 73
Region Association: Upper MidWest



Dang that's almost junkyard cheap. You gonna look for an engine to bolt that to or use your Type 4? KEP will make any adapter but it will cost some dough. 2.8 is a nice engine if you like v6's. Almost went that way myself.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Andyrew
post Oct 12 2015, 11:24 PM
Post #25


Spooling.... Please wait
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 12,054
Joined: 20-January 03
From: Riverbank, Ca
Member No.: 172
Region Association: Northern California



Nice!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
76-914
post Oct 13 2015, 07:48 AM
Post #26


Repeat Offender
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 9,921
Joined: 23-January 09
From: Temecula, CA
Member No.: 9,964
Region Association: Southern California



Which power plant you going with??
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mueller
post Oct 13 2015, 02:35 PM
Post #27


Back in the game...trying to keep this one stockish!
***************

Group: Members
Posts: 16,483
Joined: 4-January 03
From: Antioch, CA
Member No.: 87
Region Association: None



QUOTE(76-914 @ Oct 13 2015, 06:48 AM) *

Which power plant you going with??


My 1.7 while I save up for the engine I really want....
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
76-914
post Oct 13 2015, 03:27 PM
Post #28


Repeat Offender
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 9,921
Joined: 23-January 09
From: Temecula, CA
Member No.: 9,964
Region Association: Southern California



Turbo that puppy. McMarks pulled pretty good.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mueller
post Oct 13 2015, 10:58 PM
Post #29


Back in the game...trying to keep this one stockish!
***************

Group: Members
Posts: 16,483
Joined: 4-January 03
From: Antioch, CA
Member No.: 87
Region Association: None



QUOTE(76-914 @ Oct 13 2015, 02:27 PM) *

Turbo that puppy. McMarks pulled pretty good.



I might go that route, I have an extra 13c from my Volvo build that wouldn't be too bad on this 1.7...might be better choices but this one is paid for (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

Playing on the computer tonight, overlay aircooled (green) on the Audi gearbox bell housing.

Need a 914 transmission so I can see where the starter mounts and see where to move it or clock it relative to the input shaft.


Attached Image
Attached Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
76-914
post Oct 14 2015, 09:38 AM
Post #30


Repeat Offender
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 9,921
Joined: 23-January 09
From: Temecula, CA
Member No.: 9,964
Region Association: Southern California



QUOTE(Mueller @ Oct 13 2015, 09:58 PM) *

QUOTE(76-914 @ Oct 13 2015, 02:27 PM) *

Turbo that puppy. McMarks pulled pretty good.



I might go that route, I have an extra 13c from my Volvo build that wouldn't be too bad on this 1.7...might be better choices but this one is paid for (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

Playing on the computer tonight, overlay aircooled (green) on the Audi gearbox bell housing.

Need a 914 transmission so I can see where the starter mounts and see where to move it or clock it relative to the input shaft.


Attached Image
Attached Image

I have an old tail shifter case you can have but I'm a few hundred miles south of you. Yours if you can arrange transportation.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Andyrew
post Oct 14 2015, 09:42 AM
Post #31


Spooling.... Please wait
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 12,054
Joined: 20-January 03
From: Riverbank, Ca
Member No.: 172
Region Association: Northern California



QUOTE(Mueller @ Oct 13 2015, 09:58 PM) *

QUOTE(76-914 @ Oct 13 2015, 02:27 PM) *

Turbo that puppy. McMarks pulled pretty good.



I might go that route, I have an extra 13c from my Volvo build that wouldn't be too bad on this 1.7...might be better choices but this one is paid for (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

Playing on the computer tonight, overlay aircooled (green) on the Audi gearbox bell housing.

Need a 914 transmission so I can see where the starter mounts and see where to move it or clock it relative to the input shaft.


Attached Image
Attached Image


Did you get that cad drawing from somewhere or did you make it somehow?

Your engineering skills continue to amaze me... Glad your back (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mueller
post Oct 14 2015, 02:46 PM
Post #32


Back in the game...trying to keep this one stockish!
***************

Group: Members
Posts: 16,483
Joined: 4-January 03
From: Antioch, CA
Member No.: 87
Region Association: None



I found a drawing online that has the bolt hole locations and I imported it in and manually traced the outline. I will add the holes later on.

That was drawn using Geomagic, it used to be called Alibre...a poor man's version of Solidworks.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mueller
post Oct 24 2015, 10:40 AM
Post #33


Back in the game...trying to keep this one stockish!
***************

Group: Members
Posts: 16,483
Joined: 4-January 03
From: Antioch, CA
Member No.: 87
Region Association: None



No physical progress...just virtual progress (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

Ordered a 964/993 starter gear and friction surface for the aluminum flywheel I'll be making to adapt my motor to the Boxster transmission.

I should be getting the pressure plate and clutch next week and will model those up as well.

I just made these based on some dimensions I found online and will correct them once I get the parts in hand. I know the teeth are off for sure. Still researching starters.....

Attached Image
Attached Image

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Andyrew
post Oct 24 2015, 01:28 PM
Post #34


Spooling.... Please wait
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 12,054
Joined: 20-January 03
From: Riverbank, Ca
Member No.: 172
Region Association: Northern California



Ya... Thats awesome...

I would love to employ your services to help me with my wheel speed sensors...

How are you going to cut that adapter?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mueller
post Oct 25 2015, 01:10 PM
Post #35


Back in the game...trying to keep this one stockish!
***************

Group: Members
Posts: 16,483
Joined: 4-January 03
From: Antioch, CA
Member No.: 87
Region Association: None



QUOTE(Andyrew @ Oct 24 2015, 12:28 PM) *

Ya... Thats awesome...

I would love to employ your services to help me with my wheel speed sensors...

How are you going to cut that adapter?



If the plate fits my mill, I'll use that..if not I have a co-worker with a bigger mill in his garage that can cut it out.

First I need to install the new motion contoller on the BP mill....need to learn some C++ 1st for the interface...

My old tower PC with Win98 finally bit the dust (I could replace the capacitors on the motorboard)

So I bought this $150 Dell mini-PC you see in the middle running Win8.1 and boards on the left is an 8 axis motion controller (only using 4 axis right now, XYZ and rotary table)


Attached Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Andyrew
post Oct 25 2015, 02:41 PM
Post #36


Spooling.... Please wait
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 12,054
Joined: 20-January 03
From: Riverbank, Ca
Member No.: 172
Region Association: Northern California



QUOTE(Mueller @ Oct 25 2015, 12:10 PM) *

QUOTE(Andyrew @ Oct 24 2015, 12:28 PM) *

Ya... Thats awesome...

I would love to employ your services to help me with my wheel speed sensors...

How are you going to cut that adapter?



If the plate fits my mill, I'll use that..if not I have a co-worker with a bigger mill in his garage that can cut it out.

First I need to install the new motion contoller on the BP mill....need to learn some C++ 1st for the interface...

My old tower PC with Win98 finally bit the dust (I could replace the capacitors on the motorboard)

So I bought this $150 Dell mini-PC you see in the middle running Win8.1 and boards on the left is an 8 axis motion controller (only using 4 axis right now, XYZ and rotary table)


Attached Image



Nice! What CNC mill do you have? Can you mill steel or only aluminum?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mueller
post Oct 25 2015, 03:27 PM
Post #37


Back in the game...trying to keep this one stockish!
***************

Group: Members
Posts: 16,483
Joined: 4-January 03
From: Antioch, CA
Member No.: 87
Region Association: None



QUOTE(Andyrew @ Oct 25 2015, 01:41 PM) *

QUOTE(Mueller @ Oct 25 2015, 12:10 PM) *

QUOTE(Andyrew @ Oct 24 2015, 12:28 PM) *

Ya... Thats awesome...

I would love to employ your services to help me with my wheel speed sensors...

How are you going to cut that adapter?



If the plate fits my mill, I'll use that..if not I have a co-worker with a bigger mill in his garage that can cut it out.

First I need to install the new motion contoller on the BP mill....need to learn some C++ 1st for the interface...

My old tower PC with Win98 finally bit the dust (I could replace the capacitors on the motorboard)

So I bought this $150 Dell mini-PC you see in the middle running Win8.1 and boards on the left is an 8 axis motion controller (only using 4 axis right now, XYZ and rotary table)


Attached Image



Nice! What CNC mill do you have? Can you mill steel or only aluminum?


Early 1970's Bridgeport knee mill, currently steppers (open loop) , soon to be servo driven (closed loop)

I can mill steel, it just takes longer due to having to go slower with the feds and speeds.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
trojanhorsepower
post Oct 25 2015, 06:21 PM
Post #38


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 769
Joined: 21-September 03
From: Marion, NC
Member No.: 1,179
Region Association: None



I like the little computer, where did you get it? What kind of A V IO's dose it have?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mueller
post Oct 25 2015, 06:27 PM
Post #39


Back in the game...trying to keep this one stockish!
***************

Group: Members
Posts: 16,483
Joined: 4-January 03
From: Antioch, CA
Member No.: 87
Region Association: None



Best Buy, I'd bet you can find them cheaper on Amazon but it was one of those I gotta have it now moments..hahaha

HDMI and DisplayPort for video output.

Came with wireless mouse and keyboard and Wifi (will be going with cable keyboard and mouse when I have it connected to my mill, a little safer that way)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
trojanhorsepower
post Oct 25 2015, 06:34 PM
Post #40


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 769
Joined: 21-September 03
From: Marion, NC
Member No.: 1,179
Region Association: None



Cool. Does it have mic and headphone/speaker ports?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

10 Pages V < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd November 2018 - 05:17 AM