Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Recommended Tools & How to Start, I'm new to the 914 community and restoring cars in general. Looking for a recommended list of tools to have handy and perhaps places to start.
dlloyd2691
post Nov 20 2016, 07:29 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 19,951
Region Association: Canada

I'm the proud (3rd) owner of a 1975 1.8l 914. I don't have any auto experience (but am handy) and want to restore the car back to its original stature. This means removing the dual carbs (I have collected the parts for the original fuel injection). I was hoping the community could help me with some initial questions (may help with family members buying be xmas presents). What I'd like to know is:

- what are the basic tools (and perhaps unusual ones) that I should have to consider a complete restoration (lets assume I will have the body blasted and painted by someone else, but am open to suggestions if that's a do it yourself)
- What is the best way to approach a complete restoration (including engine work)? What's the order (remove the body....), any advice or posts that are relevant would be fantastic. Ways to hold the engine for easier working....