Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Direction and Advice to stay "Original", What can be replaced but stay "Original?"
Ruprect006
post Oct 19 2017, 03:29 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 21,511
Region Association: South East States

I am new to the 914 scene. I am the proud new owner of my uncle's '73 914 2.0. He drove it off the lot and it is all original. It was in storage for 37 years and I just got it out a couple weeks ago and it is now in my garage. It has 15,506 miles on it.

My questions are about what to do now. I don't want to do anything that would hurt the original condition of it and therefore the value.

The first item in question is the fuel system. I took the fuel tank out and there was a hole eaten in the side of it. Fortunately only a little of the "gas/oil/tar" had oozed out. I cleaned up the compartment and it looks good!

So since the tank needs to be replaced, do I just order a reman one and that is okay for staying original?

While the tank is out, should I just clean out the original fuel lines, or is it still considered original if I replace them all with new? And would a set of SS lines from Tangerine Racing be good, or would that be frowned upon as not original?

Haven't touched the fuel filter and pump yet, but same question regarding refurbishing or replacing and not hurting the value.

Thanks for any insights and direction!

Oh, and yes I do have the center caps. In case that sticks out to you in the photo. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

Attached Image

User is offlineProfile CardPM