Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

4 Pages V  1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Turbo 914 (1.8 type-4), Turbocharging my 1.8 type-4 for a school project... can anyone give me some advice?
holtby914
post Jan 11 2018, 09:21 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 20,593
Region Association: Canada

hello,

I am an automotive engineering student at the University of Windsor. I am trying to somehow incorporate the restoration of my 914 into my education somehow. After talking to many of my professors a few of them are suggesting I try and turbo the original 1.8l type-4 came in the car. I have the entire case completely apart, down to the crank, and am at the stage where I'm getting ready to start blueprinting this engine. However, it seems that turbo type-4's are not very common, and I do not seem to understand why. I am ready to take on the challenge, however, I would love some advice (combinations, etc.).

I am thinking that I will keep stock crank and rods, and get some JE forged pistons (not sure of size yet). Was also thinking I port the stock heads. However, beyond that, i have planned anything.

cheers,

Blake
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
JeffBowlsby
post Jan 11 2018, 09:58 PM
Post #2

914 Wiring Harnesses

Member No.: 104
Region Association: None

Search here for McMark Turbo.
+Quote Post
Mueller
post Jan 11 2018, 09:58 PM
Post #3

914 Freak!

Member No.: 87

Search using turbo and McMark as username.

He built a 1.7 turbo and has great pictures and info.

Ideally you'd measure the bores and order pistons to suite the application.