Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs
 
914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!
 
Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.
 

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Turn signal reinstall, Doesn’t fit
Wew
post May 22 2019, 07:55 PM
Post #1


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 50
Joined: 17-January 15
From: Novato, ca
Member No.: 18,335
Region Association: None



Hi all,
Installing new switches into steering column and also did the electric motor pump washer upgrade. I am having a heck of a time getting both of the windshield wiper and turn signal wire housings to fit back through the steering column channel. There has to be something I am doing wrong. Anyone with any experience doing this, your feedback and help is much appreciated.

Thank you,

Gary
Attached Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
worn
post May 22 2019, 09:53 PM
Post #2


can't remember
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,477
Joined: 3-June 11
From: Madison, WI
Member No.: 13,152
Region Association: Upper MidWest



QUOTE(Wew @ May 22 2019, 05:55 PM) *

Hi all,
Installing new switches into steering column and also did the electric motor pump washer upgrade. I am having a heck of a time getting both of the windshield wiper and turn signal wire housings to fit back through the steering column channel. There has to be something I am doing wrong. Anyone with any experience doing this, your feedback and help is much appreciated.

Thank you,

Gary
Attached Image

Nice photo. As I recall the wires can be hard to stuff into place. Where did you get the switches from?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
JeffBowlsby
post May 22 2019, 10:04 PM
Post #3


914 Wiring Harnesses
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 6,840
Joined: 7-January 03
From: San Ramon CA
Member No.: 104
Region Association: None



That’s the bottom view, it’s up side down. Did you know that?
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
jcd914
post May 22 2019, 10:22 PM
Post #4


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,818
Joined: 7-February 08
From: Sacramento, CA
Member No.: 8,684
Region Association: Northern California



The new wiper switch you are using has the electrical contacts for the washer pump and so it has a different wire guide for the extra wires. It is too wide to fit in the steering column.
The plastic wire guide from the old wiper switch has to be transferred to the new wiper switch.
You end up with the wires in the same slots.

Jim
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
worn
post May 23 2019, 02:43 AM
Post #5


can't remember
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,477
Joined: 3-June 11
From: Madison, WI
Member No.: 13,152
Region Association: Upper MidWest



QUOTE(jcd914 @ May 22 2019, 08:22 PM) *

The new wiper switch you are using has the electrical contacts for the washer pump and so it has a different wire guide for the extra wires. It is too wide to fit in the steering column.
The plastic wire guide from the old wiper switch has to be transferred to the new wiper switch.
You end up with the wires in the same slots.

Jim

I haven’t done this for a few years but I seem to remember that you end up with the washer pump wires not fitting the old plastic loom and having to go through loose. Not too easily either. The pump wires also need separate connections to non original wires that one runs to the pump.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dr914@autoatlanta.com
post May 23 2019, 08:10 AM
Post #6


914 Guru
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 5,522
Joined: 3-January 07
From: atlanta georgia
Member No.: 7,418
Region Association: None



you will have to use the wire channel from your old switch and stagger the extra wire on top. A direct fit on the 75 76 models however but not on the 72-74
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Wew
post May 23 2019, 08:37 AM
Post #7


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 50
Joined: 17-January 15
From: Novato, ca
Member No.: 18,335
Region Association: None



QUOTE(dr914@autoatlanta.com @ May 23 2019, 07:10 AM) *

you will have to use the wire channel from your old switch and stagger the extra wire on top. A direct fit on the 75 76 models however but not on the 72-74


Hi all,

Thanks much for the input. Much appreciated. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/pray.gif)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Bleyseng
post May 23 2019, 10:29 AM
Post #8


Aircooled Baby!
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 12,569
Joined: 27-December 02
From: Seattle
Member No.: 24
Region Association: Pacific Northwest



which switch did you use?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
seanpaulmc
post May 23 2019, 11:04 AM
Post #9


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 71
Joined: 6-December 16
From: Orlando, FL
Member No.: 20,649
Region Association: South East States



Please post a similar picture with the old wire loom in place before you reinstall. Thanks!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 16th July 2019 - 10:01 PM