Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs
 
914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!
 
Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.
 

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Engine wiring harness query
914Greg
post Dec 1 2019, 05:06 PM
Post #1


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 17-November 19
From: Australia
Member No.: 23,647
Region Association: None



I have bought a roller without an engine wiring harness, it was a 4 that will be converted to a 6 with MSD and built in alt regulator, would it be just as easy to start from scratch with a harness than mod an old one?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mb911
post Dec 1 2019, 05:41 PM
Post #2


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 3,938
Joined: 2-January 09
From: Burlington wi
Member No.: 9,892
Region Association: Upper MidWest



QUOTE(914Greg @ Dec 1 2019, 03:06 PM) *

I have bought a roller without an engine wiring harness, it was a 4 that will be converted to a 6 with MSD and built in alt regulator, would it be just as easy to start from scratch with a harness than mod an old one?



Are you speaking of the engine compartment chassis harness? Or an engine harness which is part of the engine..
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Rosie
post Dec 1 2019, 08:30 PM
Post #3


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 17-November 19
From: Australia
Member No.: 23,650
Region Association: None



The harness that would go from the 12 pin connector on the relay/fuse panel.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mikey914
post Dec 2 2019, 12:05 AM
Post #4


The rubber man
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 9,474
Joined: 27-December 04
From: Hillsboro, OR
Member No.: 3,348
Region Association: None



I have the ignition harness you are referring in several variations as well as the FI one if you need it.
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
IronHillRestorations
post Dec 2 2019, 07:00 AM
Post #5


I. I. R. C.
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 5,686
Joined: 18-March 03
From: West TN
Member No.: 439
Region Association: None



If you are looking for an engine harness for a 6 conversion, I can make one for you. It'll be a few months before I'm back in action, but I've done several for 6 conversions with MSD
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mark Henry
post Dec 2 2019, 10:40 AM
Post #6


that's what I do!
***************

Group: Members
Posts: 18,155
Joined: 27-December 02
From: Port Hope, Ontario
Member No.: 26
Region Association: Canada



Is it for a /4 or a /6? Carbs or FI?
Do you still have the relay board or has it been removed?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
IronHillRestorations
post Dec 2 2019, 12:25 PM
Post #7


I. I. R. C.
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 5,686
Joined: 18-March 03
From: West TN
Member No.: 439
Region Association: None



The OP says "will be converted to 6"
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mark Henry
post Dec 2 2019, 02:29 PM
Post #8


that's what I do!
***************

Group: Members
Posts: 18,155
Joined: 27-December 02
From: Port Hope, Ontario
Member No.: 26
Region Association: Canada



QUOTE(IronHillRestorations @ Dec 2 2019, 01:25 PM) *

The OP says "will be converted to 6"

Sorry thought it said "was".

You will have to decide on several things
- to keep the relay board or delete it.
-where you plan to mount the MSD box.
-where you're mounting the fuel pump.
-what extra gauges you will run and how you want to run the wiring.

My engine harness I deleted the relay board and made it a quick conect to the main harness using the proper connector, but I still have a couple connections on the right side where I mounted my regulator and MSD. My MSD I did a stealth install in the stock location by modifying a /6 CDI mount. Then I still have a secondary harness for some of my gauges, again with a quick disconnect.
Using quick disconnect(s) my harnesses stay on the engine for easy R&R of the engine.

Taking the extra time sorting and planning of where everything goes will make for a much cleaner cable harness install.

If you're not that great with wiring and for the proper connectors Perry is you're best bet for getting a clean harness that is custom built to your needs.




User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
914Greg
post Dec 2 2019, 04:01 PM
Post #9


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 17-November 19
From: Australia
Member No.: 23,647
Region Association: None



Thanks for all the assistance and advice guys, when I get the car shipped I will work out the best way to go.
I'm good with wiring and have just finished reworking a harness on a 2.7 in a 911 from FI to carbs, and msd. I thought i might just start by getting a couple of multi pin connectors but i dont see them listed in the Porsche parts catalogue, are they available anywhere.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tom
post Dec 2 2019, 05:57 PM
Post #10


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,049
Joined: 21-August 05
From: Port Orchard, WA 98367
Member No.: 4,626
Region Association: None



I modified an existing harness for a 3.0 several years ago. The 12 pin connector was sourced by the owner if I remember right and I seem to remember something about Mercedes using the same connectors. His was using carbs. We called Jerry Woods in California to be sure about the hookup with MSD. Nice fellow and very helpful. I kind of dropped out of 914 things after selling my 76 2.0 and haven't kept in touch with the guy I did the harness mods for. I never heard from him either, but his car is running so I guess all was well. I will add a wiring diagram for your use if you want it. I used a couple of Weather Tech connectors to keep everything with the MSD connections water tight.
Hope this can be some help,
Tom


Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mikey914
post Dec 2 2019, 06:13 PM
Post #11


The rubber man
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 9,474
Joined: 27-December 04
From: Hillsboro, OR
Member No.: 3,348
Region Association: None



We make all the connectors, so if you have a diagram you want to have made, we can do it.
Mark
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
914Greg
post Dec 3 2019, 04:04 PM
Post #12


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: 17-November 19
From: Australia
Member No.: 23,647
Region Association: None



Thanks again for all for the help and especially the wiring diagran Tom, just looking at how the relay board works and what i need to run i will most likely just bypass it but will make my final decision after the car arrives and i can understand it all more clearly.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 14th December 2019 - 05:32 PM