Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs
 
914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!
 
Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.
 

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Emergency brake, No resistance on lever, does not engage
tsvo
post Apr 7 2021, 06:22 PM
Post #1


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 91
Joined: 30-January 16
From: Chicago
Member No.: 19,616
Region Association: Upper MidWest



Hello, my emergency brake no longer has any resistance on the lever when you pull on it. It does not lock or engage the brake. Where do I start to find the issue?

Regards,
Terry
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dave_Darling
post Apr 7 2021, 06:45 PM
Post #2


914 Idiot
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 14,363
Joined: 9-January 03
From: Silly-con Valley, CA
Member No.: 121
Region Association: Northern California



Check to see if the cables are still attached to the arms on the rear brake calipers.

--DD
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tsvo
post Apr 7 2021, 06:51 PM
Post #3


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 91
Joined: 30-January 16
From: Chicago
Member No.: 19,616
Region Association: Upper MidWest



QUOTE(Dave_Darling @ Apr 7 2021, 07:45 PM) *

Check to see if the cables are still attached to the arms on the rear brake calipers.

--DD



Thank you Dave. I will start there.
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
pcdarks
post Apr 7 2021, 07:02 PM
Post #4


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 22-June 13
Member No.: 16,037
Region Association: None



You have a single cable about 8 inches long that then splits and pulls left and right. This is located under the drivers seat and is easily accessible once the seat is out. there is a plate covering it with two small screws.The other ends go directly to the rear calipers.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tsvo
post Apr 7 2021, 07:11 PM
Post #5


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 91
Joined: 30-January 16
From: Chicago
Member No.: 19,616
Region Association: Upper MidWest



QUOTE(pcdarks @ Apr 7 2021, 08:02 PM) *

You have a single cable about 8 inches long that then splits and pulls left and right. This is located under the drivers seat and is easily accessible once the seat is out. there is a plate covering it with two small screws.The other ends go directly to the rear calipers.



Thank you for the details. I will give it a look.
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Olympic 914
post Apr 8 2021, 05:51 PM
Post #6



***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,337
Joined: 7-July 11
From: Pittsburgh PA
Member No.: 13,287
Region Association: North East States



May also need to set the air gap on the pads.

.004

If its too large your parking brake won't work.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tsvo
post Apr 8 2021, 06:26 PM
Post #7


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 91
Joined: 30-January 16
From: Chicago
Member No.: 19,616
Region Association: Upper MidWest



QUOTE(Olympic 914 @ Apr 8 2021, 06:51 PM) *

May also need to set the air gap on the pads.

.004

If its too large your parking brake won't work.


Thank you, I will check that as well.

One more question, besides the brake cable wire, what is the second wire under the driver's seat?
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tsvo
post Apr 8 2021, 06:27 PM
Post #8


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 91
Joined: 30-January 16
From: Chicago
Member No.: 19,616
Region Association: Upper MidWest



QUOTE(pcdarks @ Apr 7 2021, 08:02 PM) *

You have a single cable about 8 inches long that then splits and pulls left and right. This is located under the drivers seat and is easily accessible once the seat is out. there is a plate covering it with two small screws.The other ends go directly to the rear calipers.


One more question, besides the brake cable wire, what is the second wire under the driver's seat?
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tsvo
post Apr 8 2021, 06:27 PM
Post #9


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 91
Joined: 30-January 16
From: Chicago
Member No.: 19,616
Region Association: Upper MidWest



QUOTE(Dave_Darling @ Apr 7 2021, 07:45 PM) *

Check to see if the cables are still attached to the arms on the rear brake calipers.

--DD


One more question, besides the brake cable wire, what is the second wire under the driver's seat?
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bdstone914
post Apr 8 2021, 06:43 PM
Post #10


bdstone914
****

Group: Members
Posts: 3,812
Joined: 8-November 03
From: Riverside CA
Member No.: 1,319



QUOTE(tsvo @ Apr 8 2021, 05:27 PM) *

QUOTE(Dave_Darling @ Apr 7 2021, 07:45 PM) *

Check to see if the cables are still attached to the arms on the rear brake calipers.

--DD


One more question, besides the brake cable wire, what is the second wire under the driver's seat?


The cable runs from the end of rhe handle the the equalizer at the firewall. Skider the seat forward and see if it is intact
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Spoke
post Apr 8 2021, 06:58 PM
Post #11


Jerry
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 6,478
Joined: 29-October 04
From: Allentown, PA
Member No.: 3,031



Did the ebrake ever work or is this a new issue?

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tsvo
post Apr 8 2021, 07:08 PM
Post #12


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 91
Joined: 30-January 16
From: Chicago
Member No.: 19,616
Region Association: Upper MidWest



QUOTE(Spoke @ Apr 8 2021, 07:58 PM) *

Did the ebrake ever work or is this a new issue?


I removed the seat. The cable from the brake looked good. I wiggled it around a little and the brake works fine. Kind of concerns me so ce I didn't really do anything.

While under there I found this second wire, what is it? Fasten seat belt sensor? It wasn't attached to anything. It was just kind of stuck in the hole on the floor near the base of the brake. Perhaps it was interfering?
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bbrock
post Apr 8 2021, 07:51 PM
Post #13


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 4,215
Joined: 17-February 17
From: Montana
Member No.: 20,845
Region Association: Rocky Mountains



QUOTE(tsvo @ Apr 8 2021, 06:08 PM) *

QUOTE(Spoke @ Apr 8 2021, 07:58 PM) *

Did the ebrake ever work or is this a new issue?


I removed the seat. The cable from the brake looked good. I wiggled it around a little and the brake works fine. Kind of concerns me so ce I didn't really do anything.

While under there I found this second wire, what is it? Fasten seat belt sensor? It wasn't attached to anything. It was just kind of stuck in the hole on the floor near the base of the brake. Perhaps it was interfering?


Maybe the wire to the brake light switch? Is it brown?
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tsvo
post Apr 8 2021, 08:04 PM
Post #14


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 91
Joined: 30-January 16
From: Chicago
Member No.: 19,616
Region Association: Upper MidWest



QUOTE(bbrock @ Apr 8 2021, 08:51 PM) *

QUOTE(tsvo @ Apr 8 2021, 06:08 PM) *

QUOTE(Spoke @ Apr 8 2021, 07:58 PM) *

Did the ebrake ever work or is this a new issue?


I removed the seat. The cable from the brake looked good. I wiggled it around a little and the brake works fine. Kind of concerns me so ce I didn't really do anything.

While under there I found this second wire, what is it? Fasten seat belt sensor? It wasn't attached to anything. It was just kind of stuck in the hole on the floor near the base of the brake. Perhaps it was interfering?


Maybe the wire to the brake light switch? Is it brown?



Yes, it is brown.
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bbrock
post Apr 8 2021, 09:54 PM
Post #15


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 4,215
Joined: 17-February 17
From: Montana
Member No.: 20,845
Region Association: Rocky Mountains



QUOTE(tsvo @ Apr 8 2021, 07:04 PM) *

QUOTE(bbrock @ Apr 8 2021, 08:51 PM) *

QUOTE(tsvo @ Apr 8 2021, 06:08 PM) *

QUOTE(Spoke @ Apr 8 2021, 07:58 PM) *

Did the ebrake ever work or is this a new issue?


I removed the seat. The cable from the brake looked good. I wiggled it around a little and the brake works fine. Kind of concerns me so ce I didn't really do anything.

While under there I found this second wire, what is it? Fasten seat belt sensor? It wasn't attached to anything. It was just kind of stuck in the hole on the floor near the base of the brake. Perhaps it was interfering?


Maybe the wire to the brake light switch? Is it brown?



Yes, it is brown.


Sounds like the wire that should run to the contact switch that the e-brake handle pushes down and rests on when it is off.
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dion
post Apr 9 2021, 04:41 AM
Post #16


RN
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,134
Joined: 16-September 04
From: Audubon,PA
Member No.: 2,766
Region Association: MidAtlantic Region



Visual aide


Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image Attached Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tsvo
post Apr 9 2021, 05:25 AM
Post #17


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 91
Joined: 30-January 16
From: Chicago
Member No.: 19,616
Region Association: Upper MidWest



QUOTE(Dion @ Apr 9 2021, 05:41 AM) *

Visual aide


That is absolutely it. Mine is not connected. Seems to be broken. What issue will this create?


Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ClayPerrine
post Apr 9 2021, 05:55 AM
Post #18


Life's been good to me so far.....
**********

Group: Admin
Posts: 12,105
Joined: 11-September 03
From: Hurst, TX.
Member No.: 1,143
Region Association: NineFourteenerVille



QUOTE(tsvo @ Apr 9 2021, 06:25 AM) *


That is absolutely it. Mine is not connected. Seems to be broken. What issue will this create?


There is a big red light in the left hand gauge that is supposed to flash when the park brake is engaged. That is the wire for it. It should go to a switch that gets depressed when you lower the handle.

It is the same basic switch as the door jam switches for the interior lights. They are inexpensive and can be picked up from your favorite parts pusher vendor.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
tsvo
post Apr 9 2021, 06:11 AM
Post #19


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 91
Joined: 30-January 16
From: Chicago
Member No.: 19,616
Region Association: Upper MidWest



QUOTE(ClayPerrine @ Apr 9 2021, 06:55 AM) *

QUOTE(tsvo @ Apr 9 2021, 06:25 AM) *


That is absolutely it. Mine is not connected. Seems to be broken. What issue will this create?


There is a big red light in the left hand gauge that is supposed to flash when the park brake is engaged. That is the wire for it. It should go to a switch that gets depressed when you lower the handle.

It is the same basic switch as the door jam switches for the interior lights. They are inexpensive and can be picked up from your favorite parts pusher vendor.


Thanks for the info. That is what it is. The light is now on, never was before. Where do you gain access to replace the switch?
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
BeatNavy
post Apr 9 2021, 06:30 AM
Post #20


SirAndy found my badge!
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,449
Joined: 26-February 14
From: Easton, MD
Member No.: 17,042
Region Association: MidAtlantic Region



If you look in Dion's second pic above you can see the switch is mounted right into that metal cross member on the floor pan and then grounded to the chassis. Get a replacement switch and insert it into that square shaped hole on the metal cross member. Then make sure the wire is grounded either by connecting it what's left of the original wire or doing it in a manner similar to what Dion did.

Just to be clear, the e-brake is a mechanical setup, though. In and of itself this isn't causing the original issue you described (unless pieces of your switch are interfering with operation somehow).
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

2 Pages V  1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 11th April 2021 - 03:11 PM