Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs
 
914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!
 
Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.
 

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Pic request 914-6 conversion using CIS throttle, Thought I saved one from a past search - can't find it
nditiz1
post Sep 15 2021, 06:49 AM
Post #1


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 706
Joined: 26-May 15
From: Mount Airy, Maryland
Member No.: 18,763
Region Association: MidAtlantic Region



I will be using the patrick motorsports linkage and I am already seeing an issue. The sheet metal from restoration design looks to be using the stock location for carbs which pushes the throttle closer to the center of the engine and has the ball on the inside. CIS throttle has it on the outside. I believe some needed to drill out the ball and tap it on the opposite side. Did they also need to drill a new hole? Did anyone get it working with less effort? Maybe just drill a hole further towards the outside of the engine and not mess with the ball on the throttle shaft. Show me what you did if you can, I'm a visual learner (IMG:style_emoticons/default/beer3.gif)

Thanks all!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Root_Werks
post Sep 15 2021, 08:41 AM
Post #2


When I set my timing, why do I flush, then take a pee?
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 7,241
Joined: 25-May 04
From: About 5NM from Canada
Member No.: 2,105
Region Association: Pacific Northwest



Here's a pic of my 2.7 with CIS. It uses a 4cyl cable. I cannot claim credit for the bracket. PO made a little bracket which allowed the use of the cable. Only mod on my part was drilling a hole in the 914-6 tin, adding a grommet for the cable to run through.



Attached image(s)
Attached Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tdskip
post Sep 15 2021, 09:19 AM
Post #3


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 3,392
Joined: 1-December 17
From: soCal
Member No.: 21,666
Region Association: None



Bump for even more pictures...and a thank you to @Root_Werks
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SirAndy
post Sep 15 2021, 09:52 AM
Post #4


Resident German
*************************

Group: Admin
Posts: 40,374
Joined: 21-January 03
From: Oakland, Kalifornia
Member No.: 179
Region Association: Northern California



Search for the build thread of the late Jeff Tucker (Jeffs9146), he had tons of good info in there.

(IMG:style_emoticons/default/bye1.gif)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
VegasRacer
post Sep 15 2021, 10:16 AM
Post #5


ELVIRA
*****

Group: Benefactors
Posts: 7,951
Joined: 27-March 03
From: Between Scylla and Charybdis
Member No.: 481
Region Association: None



Attached Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nditiz1
post Sep 15 2021, 10:48 AM
Post #6


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 706
Joined: 26-May 15
From: Mount Airy, Maryland
Member No.: 18,763
Region Association: MidAtlantic Region



Thanks @SirAndy

@VegasRacer - John did you drill a new hole? Looks like everything is stock. Did you use the existing hole or drill a new one?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Cairo94507
post Sep 15 2021, 10:53 AM
Post #7


Michael
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 7,984
Joined: 1-November 08
From: San Ramon Valley, CA
Member No.: 9,712
Region Association: Northern California



VegasRacer and Root_Werks both have clean installs. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/beerchug.gif)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
VegasRacer
post Sep 15 2021, 11:06 AM
Post #8


ELVIRA
*****

Group: Benefactors
Posts: 7,951
Joined: 27-March 03
From: Between Scylla and Charybdis
Member No.: 481
Region Association: None



QUOTE(Cairo94507 @ Sep 15 2021, 09:53 AM) *

John did you drill a new hole? Looks like everything is stock.

The PO did the conversion. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smash.gif) No extra holes that I am aware of.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nditiz1
post Sep 15 2021, 12:16 PM
Post #9


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 706
Joined: 26-May 15
From: Mount Airy, Maryland
Member No.: 18,763
Region Association: MidAtlantic Region



Do you think you can get a shot of looking at where it passes through the rear engine tin?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Root_Werks
post Sep 15 2021, 01:58 PM
Post #10


When I set my timing, why do I flush, then take a pee?
*****

Group: Members
Posts: 7,241
Joined: 25-May 04
From: About 5NM from Canada
Member No.: 2,105
Region Association: Pacific Northwest



I think you can use a 914-6 bell crank with most of the factory CIS linkage. It's super close to 914-6 carbs. There was one 914-6 CIS conversion I recall doing using a 914-6 bell crank and slightly modified rod. Turned out very nice and factory looking.

Only reason my 914-6 uses a 4cyl cable is because it was already done and works well.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nditiz1
post Sep 15 2021, 03:47 PM
Post #11


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 706
Joined: 26-May 15
From: Mount Airy, Maryland
Member No.: 18,763
Region Association: MidAtlantic Region



This is the issue with it lining up.

Attached Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
VegasRacer
post Sep 15 2021, 11:18 PM
Post #12


ELVIRA
*****

Group: Benefactors
Posts: 7,951
Joined: 27-March 03
From: Between Scylla and Charybdis
Member No.: 481
Region Association: None



QUOTE(nditiz1 @ Sep 15 2021, 11:16 AM) *

Do you think you can get a shot of looking at where it passes through the rear engine tin?

This is the only photo I could find in my files of the rear engine tin.


Attached image(s)
Attached Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Steve
post Sep 15 2021, 11:25 PM
Post #13


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 4,656
Joined: 14-June 03
From: Orange County, CA
Member No.: 822
Region Association: Southern California



QUOTE(VegasRacer @ Sep 15 2021, 10:18 PM) *

QUOTE(nditiz1 @ Sep 15 2021, 11:16 AM) *

Do you think you can get a shot of looking at where it passes through the rear engine tin?

This is the only photo I could find in my files of the rear engine tin.

What’s the red box for?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
VegasRacer
post Sep 16 2021, 12:47 AM
Post #14


ELVIRA
*****

Group: Benefactors
Posts: 7,951
Joined: 27-March 03
From: Between Scylla and Charybdis
Member No.: 481
Region Association: None



AMB Racing Transponder. Attached Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ClayPerrine
post Sep 16 2021, 06:25 AM
Post #15


Life's been good to me so far.....
**********

Group: Admin
Posts: 12,723
Joined: 11-September 03
From: Hurst, TX.
Member No.: 1,143
Region Association: NineFourteenerVille



QUOTE(VegasRacer @ Sep 16 2021, 01:47 AM) *

AMB Racing Transponder. Attached Image



Why would you put the transponder that far back in the car? You would want it on the front bumper... Just in case you go neck and neck with another car across the line. If he has his transponder on the front bumper, and you have it in the engine compartment, he is going to win because his transponder crossed the line first.


Clay
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ClayPerrine
post Sep 16 2021, 06:33 AM
Post #16


Life's been good to me so far.....
**********

Group: Admin
Posts: 12,723
Joined: 11-September 03
From: Hurst, TX.
Member No.: 1,143
Region Association: NineFourteenerVille



Here are some pictures from an old thread on a CIS 914. The previous owner used an Audi airbox to replace the Porsche one, and that allowed it to fit in the 914 engine compartment.

(IMG:http://www.914world.com/bbs2/uploads/post-2-1129560305.jpg)

(IMG:http://www.914world.com/bbs2/uploads/post-2-1129560335.jpg)

(IMG:http://www.914world.com/bbs2/uploads/post-2-1129560365.jpg)



The whole thread on the system is HERE.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
VegasRacer
post Sep 16 2021, 09:41 AM
Post #17


ELVIRA
*****

Group: Benefactors
Posts: 7,951
Joined: 27-March 03
From: Between Scylla and Charybdis
Member No.: 481
Region Association: None



QUOTE(ClayPerrine @ Sep 16 2021, 05:25 AM) *

Why would you put the transponder that far back in the car? You would want it on the front bumper...

You are correct Clay . . . . IF I was using the car for wheel to wheel competition.
It makes no difference for DE events and collecting lap times.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
nditiz1
post Sep 16 2021, 10:32 AM
Post #18


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 706
Joined: 26-May 15
From: Mount Airy, Maryland
Member No.: 18,763
Region Association: MidAtlantic Region



I just drilled a hole next to the factory throttle location. It should do the trick if I offset PMS throttle further towards the passenger side to line up perfectly.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
VegasRacer
post Sep 16 2021, 10:37 AM
Post #19


ELVIRA
*****

Group: Benefactors
Posts: 7,951
Joined: 27-March 03
From: Between Scylla and Charybdis
Member No.: 481
Region Association: None



Attached Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd October 2021 - 08:11 AM