Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

10 Pages V  1 2 3 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Dual Weber IDF 40s, Carb Rookie question...
malcolm2
post Apr 25 2023, 01:53 PM
Post #1

Advanced Member

Group: Members
Member No.: 13,139
Region Association: South East States

Hello everyone. I will preface by saying that this is an engine from a 914. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/piratenanner.gif)

But it is in my VW Bus. Just now getting it moving down the road. Everything is new.

Carbs are new and I am a carb rookie, as well. Bought them from Aircooled.net and had them cleaned and set-up for the bus. My 914 has L-Jet FI, this group has taught me enough about that system to be dangerous.

So here is my question for the carb experts. What should the Pump Valve spray look like? It seems erratic and drippy. It kicks in 1st as I open the throttle, not a spray but pore, really. I will say that I see that in all 4.

Attached ImageAttached Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
malcolm2
post Apr 25 2023, 04:35 PM
Post #2

Advanced Member

Maybe the video will help. Close to the end, not very good lite, but the pump jets seem to really be flowing..... Is that normal. All 4 are doing it.

The purpose of the video was about the idle dropping, hence the name, but I got distracted by what seemed to be excess fuel.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_4lPU2DNt44
+Quote Post
nditiz1
post Apr 25 2023, 06:07 PM
Post #3

Member No.: 18,763
Region Association: MidAtlantic Region