Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Dual Weber IDF 40s
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4
malcolm2
Hello everyone. I will preface by saying that this is an engine from a 914. piratenanner.gif

But it is in my VW Bus. Just now getting it moving down the road. Everything is new.

Carbs are new and I am a carb rookie, as well. Bought them from Aircooled.net and had them cleaned and set-up for the bus. My 914 has L-Jet FI, this group has taught me enough about that system to be dangerous.

So here is my question for the carb experts. What should the Pump Valve spray look like? It seems erratic and drippy. It kicks in 1st as I open the throttle, not a spray but pore, really. I will say that I see that in all 4.

Click to view attachmentClick to view attachment
malcolm2
Maybe the video will help. Close to the end, not very good lite, but the pump jets seem to really be flowing..... Is that normal. All 4 are doing it.

The purpose of the video was about the idle dropping, hence the name, but I got distracted by what seemed to be excess fuel.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_4lPU2DNt44
nditiz1
So John from ACN is a master with carbs. Buying his clean and tune service is very valuable as well as his knowledge with IDFs.

It looks like either the accel pump linkage is not set properly, a blockage, OR missing parts. You should have a good steady stream squirt when you activate the throttle. I would pull the carbs off and check the stream on the bench. Also, pull open the pump on the side and make sure the spring is in there. It's been so long I cannot remember the base setting for the pump rod, but I want to say 3 threads showing after the lock nut.
r_towle
Sounds like they are not synced.
One cylinder sounds off, with valve noise also.

Even at revving it still sounds off.

I believe these are new carbs, you stated you just bought them?
Start with remove and verify all settings.
Sadly, they won’t be the same