Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Doing valve clearance adjustment..., they seem way too tight
914zim
post Feb 3 2006, 11:26 PM
Post #1

Still pretty clueless...

Group: Members
Member No.: 962

Hey guys:

I wanted to check the clearances before I even started loosening things up and I'm finding they are way too tight (assuming I'm doing it right).

My 1976 914 only has about 76K miles on it and I'm not sure when the last valve clearance adjustment was done (if ever) and I've never done this procedure before.
I'm using the Cap'n's adjustment procedure and I'm looking at the chart that's provided.

Here's the issue... I can't measure any more than .006" on ANY valve! Most of them are between .002" and .005". I can't even get ANY size gauge on 2 of the valves!
What am I missing here? It was a little difficult to get the "rocking" part figured out, but I think you're supposed to measure when the opposing valve is at it's very lowest point. I this correct?

Is it possible that my valves clearances could really be this tight, or am I missing something major here? I was expecting them to be way loose if anything.

Thanks in advance for any help or suggestions from the experts on this.

Andy...
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
alpha434
post Feb 3 2006, 11:57 PM
Post #2

My member number is no coincidence.

Member No.: 5,280
Region Association: Rocky Mountains