Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> TDI in a 914?
914TD
post Aug 21 2006, 02:38 AM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 6,680

Hi, newbie here.
Has anyone ever put an Audi or 1.9L VW TDI in a 914?
Considering how well Audi did recently with their Turbo Diesel racecar it seems a natural. Any thoughts?
I’m interested in trying it.
Thanks.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
McMark
post Aug 21 2006, 03:10 AM
Post #2

914 Freak!

Group: Retired Admin
Member No.: 419
Region Association: None

First thought is if the crank spins in the 'correct' direction. I haven't heard of anyone doing that swap. Most swaps have a lot of the same issues and a few unique ones, meaning that even if you're the first, you can get most of the way there with the help of the other 'swappers'. But at some point you'll be breaking new ground. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wink.gif) Good luck!
+Quote Post
Gustl
post Aug 21 2006, 03:26 AM
Post #3

914 enthusiast & historian

Member No.: 2,212
Region Association: Austria

first of all: (IMG:style_emoticons/default/welcome.png) - from far, far away (IMG:style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif)

there was already a 1.9L TDI conversion
try the search function - I remember about a thread to this topic, might be 2 years ago

the only thing I still have in brain is, that he told us to make 55 mpg (IMG:style_emoticons/default/blink.gif)

(IMG:style_emoticons/default/wavey.gif) Gustl
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
Gustl
post Aug 21 2006, 03:32 AM
Post #4

well, just found it - klick here