Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: TDI in a 914?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
914TD
Hi, newbie here.
Has anyone ever put an Audi or 1.9L VW TDI in a 914?
Considering how well Audi did recently with their Turbo Diesel racecar it seems a natural. Any thoughts?
I’m interested in trying it.
Thanks.
McMark
First thought is if the crank spins in the 'correct' direction. I haven't heard of anyone doing that swap. Most swaps have a lot of the same issues and a few unique ones, meaning that even if you're the first, you can get most of the way there with the help of the other 'swappers'. But at some point you'll be breaking new ground. wink.gif Good luck!
Gustl
first of all: welcome.png - from far, far away biggrin.gif

there was already a 1.9L TDI conversion
try the search function - I remember about a thread to this topic, might be 2 years ago

the only thing I still have in brain is, that he told us to make 55 mpg blink.gif

wavey.gif Gustl
Gustl
well, just found it - klick here

not much about the conversion, more about the fact ...

wavey.gif Gustl
914TD
McMark,
Thanks, to the best of my knowledge all VW water-cooled engine crankshafts rotate in the same direction. For example: the inline 4, 2.0L 16Valve engine found in the GTI’s, some early Passats (90’-93’) and some special edition Jettas rotate in the same direction as the TDI engine. Doing a search it looks like the 2.0L 16V engine has been done as a 914 swap already, so I think I’m OK there.

Gustl,
Thanks for the link. The engine in the link you provided looks like a 1.9 TD (pre-95,) not a 1.9 TDI (95’-present.) It is a good link/start though as the engines have a lot of similarity and the engine mounts and bellhousing bolt patterns I believe are all the same, but the TD and the TDI aren’t the same animals. One important difference is that the TDI is drive by wire, is controlled by the ECU and can be chipped, the TD is mechanical, and modifications are more limited.