Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Can someone help me please?
Mikey6981
post Feb 3 2007, 09:55 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 3,324

Ok, I'm new to the world of "pancake" motors, and I have a 1.7 with a big bore kit and I want to go bigger. How do I do that? Do I go and get 2.0 or larger cylinders and pistons? Or do I need to get a new motor all together? Now the reason I want to do this is that my current motor has what I belive to be a broken piston ring or sever blow-by, because I have oil in my vacume lines for the F.I. Can someone help me please? (IMG:style_emoticons/default/confused24.gif)

Thanks,
Mike
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Joe Bob
post Feb 3 2007, 10:00 PM
Post #2

Retired admin, banned a few times

Member No.: 5
Region Association: None

I dunno where you heard about your "race cam"....but the D-Jet FI doesn't run well with a radical cam. It came from the factory with a mild cam to pass smog. The FI brain can't be modified and your pretty much stuck with going with either carbs or a modern FI.

As to going bigger on displacement...sure, how much $$ do ya gots?

You can do a google on Massive Type IV...Jake Raby's site and or do a search here.....LOT's of threads on the big fours and the price versus doing a six or a V8 or a Scoobie Roo conversion....the search function can be yer friend.
+Quote Post
Andyrew
post Feb 3 2007, 10:16 PM
Post #3

Spooling.... Please wait

Member No.: 172
Region Association: Northern California

Jake raby is making 200hp in a 2.3 liter...