Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: NPC: Type 4 Build for my Sand Rail!
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
wertygrog
Hi guys, so a little background first if that’s okay, my name’s Brent and I’m an aerospace engineering undergrad student in Daytona Beach, FL. My daily driver (and first car) is my ’74 914 2.0L. I’ve grown fond of the type 4 engine despite its ahem…slowness. Anyways I recently bought a sand rail frame as an impulse buy. I got it mostly complete minus engine for $500, so I ask who could say no to that? I certainly couldn’t, answers I! The plan is to make it street legal so I can cruise the town, the beach, and even do some off-roading. The transmission is a ’66 Beetle swingaxle tranny with a big differential and off-road gears. I wasn’t interested in a gimpy type 1 engine, so I started collecting parts for a type 4 build. My friends call the 2.0 engine in my 914 the “2-Point-Slow”, so I decided to designate this engine the “2-Point-Go!” The exclamation point is actually part of the name, FYI. This was my first engine build of any type. I’ve worked on my 914 a lot so I’m familiar with the operation and tuning of these engines better than any other engine, so I decided to give it a shot. It would be a very quick and cheap build, because A ) I don’t have much money and B ) I want the rail on the road sometime this century. Here’s a few pics of the sand rail. Her name is Lobo. This is because my dad had an r/c car that said Lobo on the side- this car has sentimental value for me and the sand rail happens to look like it. Lobo is Spanish for wolf; I think this fact is also very cool and it was the clincher for naming the rail Lobo.
wertygrog