Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: First Race Car 914-4
914World.com > The 914 Forums > The Paddock
ozark 914
Hi all! This is my first post here on 914 world but I've been lurking for a while and learning as much about 914 chassis and suspension building as I could. There are a lot of very knowledgeable individuals here and I've learned a lot, thanks to those that take the time to share.

I've been into Porsches for years now and owned several early 911s, (have a '70 911E w/ 2.7 MFI currently) and a couple of 944s, but this is my first 914. Actually 914s plural. My brother-n-law and I bought 6 914 rollers and a trailerload of parts. Out of the 6 chassis we have two that are buildable. One will be a 914-4 race car, I've been itching for a track car for a few years now, and the other will be a 914-6 GT replica, street legal but I would love to do the Carrera Panamericana in a few years so it will be built for a rally of that type.

We got the race chassis onto the rotisserie tonight, and I'm stoked about that! It feels like this was a real milestone. We need to get the suspension off of there and then the entire car will be sandblasted, seam welded, and the roll cage and chassis stiffening installed.

The intention is to have the car running this summer and do some autocross and some track days to get the suspension & chassis sorted. Next year we hope to have the car ready for some wheel 2 wheel. We're basically building the car to PCA GT class regulations, but our local track has a "run what you brung" series that will probably be where the car sees the most action. We also plan to do some autocross, we're not that serious about racing to win, I just want to learn what I can, improve my driving, and PARTICIPATE every chance I get.