Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: How do you budget for your 914?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
nebreitling
reading Quennie's recent thread got me thinking a bit.

i'm a doctoral student. 24. i earn my income primarily by teaching core classes at stanford university, and this doesn't add up to a particularly large sum (especially by Bay area standards)...

and i own a 914.

obviously, this presents a problem. now, my 914 has been unusually reliable, but it is still the hassle (and joy!) of a 30 year-old sports car. similiar to queenie, i have only owned vintage cars -- and am not about to change that! most of my free time and money go to the car, and over the course of the year that i've owned it, i have significantly improved its condition. it's a source of pride and joy for me, and i've never considered selling it.

so i'm curious: how do you budget for your 914? do you ever feel like you spend too much on your car?

beerchug.gif

n
John
How do I budget? I spend what the wife lets me.

When I was younger with little money (in college) with my 914, I would scour the papers for DIRT CHEAP parts cars. The more complete, the better and never, never pay asking price. Now, some 15 years and many many parts cars later, I don't find that I budget that much, as I have most parts available, or I can fab what I need. Sometimes I need an occasional part but it is rare as the 914 is no longer the primary daily driver.

As for the race car(s), the annual budget is usually 8-10 sets brake pads (about a set per event), 2-sets tires, a gallon or two of brake fluid, three gallons of oil (per season), 3.5 quarts gear oil, lots of windex and paper towels, and huge amounts of gas (or is that DILLIGAS).

Budget? we don't need no stinkin Budget.......
Bruce Allert
QUOTE(nebreitling @ Mar 29 2004, 10:57 PM)

how do you budget for your 914? do you ever feel like you spend too much on your car?

beerchug.gif

n