Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Accelerator sticking issues
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
JTarver
Hi all, I'm new to the forum, and have recently purchased my first porsche. A 72 914 2.0 fuel injected.

The car has been running great since I bought it a few days ago..and I've put probably 150miles or more on it. Today I was heading out for a drive and the accelerator stopped coming back out all the way..and the engine is revving now every time i start the car again. I'm not a mechanic at all, but am willing to look around and try to stop it until I can get it to the shop.
Can anyone point me in the right direction to stop the revving, so I don't blow the engine up.

Thanks for any info,
Joe
EdwardBlume
Its either the cable, the tube, or the pedal... You can pull the accelerator pedal and see if the cable is free. If not, you have to keep going.... I've blown brake fluid cleaner through the tube to clear it out, others might have a better idea... worst case, your tube is bending and thats a bit more work...
Jeffs9146
First guess Pedal replace or check this piece!

Second guess is the cable!
SirAndy
Check the transmission ground strap ... If it's missing, disconnected or broken, the accel cable is your only effective ground for your engine.

The electric load will melt the sheeting and your cable starts sticking ...
shades.gif Andy
McMark
Read this recent thread.
hot_shoe914
What part ofArkansas are you in?

Shoe
JTarver
Thanks for the help everyone. I checked again, and right below the gas pedal the cable has become disconnected, or broken...but looks like a clean break? I tried to see where the cable goes from the pedal but it's hard to get up under the car, even with it on ramps.
Is this thing a real pain to replace, am I better off taking it to the shop?

Shoe, I'm just outside of Little Rock.

Joe
hot_shoe914
QUOTE(JTarver @ Apr 4 2010, 06:31 PM) *