Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Welding Back Panel
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
jaxdream
Got a patch job project to do , I've seen in the restoration threads where McMark had a similar patch project , just looking for some advice on the gap size between the two pieces of sheet metal ( cut a section out of a scraped car sawzall-smiley.gif ) . This is my first time to do any body panel welding , got .024 wire on mig , voltage/amperage set on lowest setting welder.gif , hasn't burned through so far on other pieces I've welded in , just want some ideas about gap size , butted up together , a tiny gap between the two ,or maybe a certain distance apart. Thanks for any replies as I do not want to screw it up rrreeeaall bad screwy.gif that I can't grind it out.

Jack / Jaxdream
theo
The distance of the gap between the two pieces of sheet metal should be about the thickness of the sheet metal you are using, so 18 gauge ...Maybe a little less,( I would error on the side of a smaller gap), good luck!
obscurity
QUOTE(theo @ Jul 10 2010, 06:37 PM) *

The distance of the gap between the two pieces of sheet metal should be about the thickness of the sheet metal you are using, so 18 gauge ...Maybe a little less,( I would error on the side of a smaller gap), good luck!

I agree. The bigger the gap the harder it is to fill without burning an even bigger hole. I have heard someone say that the size of the gap should be about the thickness of the wire.
IronHillRestorations
Is it real MIG or flux coated wire? My limited experience with flux coated wire is that it's more difficult than real MIG.

You need a copper "spoon" to back up the gap where you are welding. The "spoon" is just a thick flat piece of copper with a handle on it that you hold tight against the gap you are welding to prevent blow through.