Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: My oil cooler project moves forward
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
qa1142
shades.gif

SETRAB OIL COOLER AN-8 FITTINGS PART #50-640-7612

Came out of ARCA car as rear end cooler

Talked to the shop guys, no sales out of wrecks or blown units.

brant
Since you obviously have been doing a lot of pre-purchase research...
can I pick your brain?

I need to slightly drop some oil temps (summer)
I've never done the rear cooler before

I'm also a bit broke this year
so I'm trying to be a bit thrifty and find something adequate (probably with a seperate fan added?) but not expensive

in your research, have you found any good deals out there?

thanks for your time and tips
was the rousche unit from ebay?

brant (just decided to see if this is in my budget yesterday)
qa1142
I got this off ebay, went with high quality unit for cheap (paid under $90 for $340 unit) figure if I need to add fan later I will but should offer enough BTU just by surface area.

this oil cooler thread has much of the "stuff" in it http://www.914world.com/bbs2/index.php?showtopic=108328

I wanted both - good quality and cheap so went ebay and shopped a while for right one. I bought rest of hoses sandwich adapter new from jegs.

Good luck
realred914
try an empi cooler. I got one, $170 for a 96 plate, with nine inch fan. all new. Tradisrad has a simular cooler in his 914 but 72 plate, and a six inch fan (his was not empi, but the cooler is from the same canadian company.

On his 914 it is mounted up above the transaxle. he finds that the fan is really needed to achieve full cooling as there is not enough air flow otherwise. I belive he could get as much as near 30-40F drop in oil temps (to about 180F) but only with the fan on.