Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Ghost wipe
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
partwerks
For the ghost wipe on the wipers I first cleaned the grounds, but that didn't help and tried another relay with no success.
It may go several minutes when in the off position and out of the blue the intermittent wipers/3rd speed, will come to life for some strange reason. I wonder what's up with that??
jsaum
QUOTE(partwerks @ Aug 7 2010, 08:45 PM) *

For the ghost wipe on the wipers I first cleaned the grounds, but that didn't help and tried another relay with no success.
It may go several minutes when in the off position and out of the blue the intermittent wipers/3rd speed, will come to life for some strange reason. I wonder what's up with that??

I'm not an electrical expert but if the wipers are coming on with the switch in the off position intermittently then I would think the positive circuit is seeing a ground/ negative that is completing the circuit to cause the wipers to actuate.

Jsaum
SirAndy
QUOTE(partwerks @ Aug 7 2010, 08:45 PM) *

I had the same issue with my intermittent wipers. I removed the intermittent relay and all is good now.

shades.gif Andy
914Sixer
Check to make sure the screws in the steering column that holds the TS and wiper switch are tight.
detoxcowboy
Just to clarify "off" is the second to last stop pulling down on the switch.. the last stop are the delay "ghost" position

That being the case, with delays working in that postion for "several Minutes" then I assume they stop? and occasionally out of the blue for no reason your high speed (3rd up) come on? I would check the brown wire in the switch and the switch contacts.. brown is ground and the switch is ground operated. no of those being loose or broken contacts.. then more than likely your relay is tired and failing..

This only assumes they used to work properly and have not recently been re-wired or pump installed with related wiring ect./.