Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Ignition Problem or?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
19144jt
I have been restoring this car for a while (1975 1.8) so it sits from time to time without being started. I am ready to get it running good to start driving it and complete the restoration. Less than a year ago I could reach in from outside the car, turn the key and it would start right up. I just replaced the fuel pump with a new one because the old one quit. Now I have to keep the key turned for maybe 15 to 20 seconds or more before it will fire and then maybe another 10 seconds while it finally catches and starts. It seems to idle fine but if I rev it even slightly from idle the tach starts to bounce wildly and the Generator light flashes on and off steadily and continuously. After searching this site It sounded like I was dealing with a bad condenser so I popped the dist out and changed out the condenser with a spare I had. I also fileld the points to remove any pits etc. and gapped them correctly. Reinstalled the dizzy and no luck...still took a lot of cranking before it would start and as soon as I gave it a little gas above idle the light was back on and the tach bouncing. I am not sure if the long start time (showed up conspicuously after new fuel pump installation) and the light and tach aren't two independant problems. I want to test the cold start valve and switch but it has been too warm to get below the test temp. Any suggestions?

John
realred914
QUOTE(19144jt @ Aug 10 2010, 08:11 AM) *