Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: OT. Would an American version of Top Gear work?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
RFoulds
I love watching Top Gear. as a former TV producer, I marvel at how simple it is. Yet, every episode is now years old, and I have seen every one multiple times.

If an American network tried to recreate this great show, would it work? Would you watch?
And who are good candidates to host?
Zundfolge
History Channel will be showing Top Gear USA soon

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Top_Gear_%28U.S._TV_series%29

Also there are new episodes of the British show (Season 15 finale aired August 1st on BBC2 and Season 16 starts this December) You can either hunt down HD versions on the torrent sites (which is what I do) or you can watch them on streaming video sites like this:
http://www.casttv.com/shows/top-gear (there are other sites ... and these guys seem to want to charge for some of the better episodes).

Here's another site http://tv.blinkx.com/show/top-gear/BHJzQdveiGS4_KOp#s15e5
Cap'n Krusty
I recently read that their previous effort at doing an American version was a disaster, and they couldn't figure out why it didn't translate well to the US market.
Personally, I couldn't care less whether they even show the original version here, but I know there are at least a few people out there who like it. What the heck, some people even like Jerry Springer ................

The Cap'n
messix
the lawyers would bore the show down. there is no way that the antics that the british version is famous for would happen here.

about as fun as a virgin margarita
RFoulds
Thanks for the info! I knew there had been talk of it, and that NBC had been interested, but I didn't realize a cable net had picked up the show now.

I think they have the wrong hosts though. I can't watch Tanner Faust. It needs an acerbic know it all to be our Jeremy. I'm thinking Paul Tracy..
VaccaRabite