Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Painting Rocker Panels
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Cambo
My rocker panels have porsche decals that are dried out and peeling. The paint is pretty beat up. So I was thinking it was time to paint them. I've got zero experience in this sort of thing. so a couple questions:

What's involved in prep? Clean them. Rough them up with sand paper?

Can I rattle can them? What kind of paint? Do I primer? Going with black.

Dare I ask? Can I paint them without removing them?

If I do remove them, I was thinking of getting an install kit from AA. Good idea?

Thanks.
Elliot Cannon
You need to contact Mike Wills (MoveQik) in Scottsdale Arizona. He is an expert on rocker painting. This guy.
70_914
I roughed mine up with scotch brite pads and sprayed them with the spray-on bedliner. Went on nice, got a good bumpy finish and will be resistant to rock chips. NOT going to pass muster if anybody is going to judge my car on originality, but those people can KMA.gif or come out and paint my next set in the original manner.

I did my rear valence and bumper tops with the same stuff and am very happy with the results, but time will tell.
avidfanjpl
I have done and redone rockers on 6 cars in 34 years.

You did not say if they were metal, and I have no familiarity with the raised letter versions. Are they metal?

So, if metal, here is heaven in a sentence, or 7.

Satin black powdercoat cost 50 bucks. Peel them off and check the jackpoints, then get the kits from AA.

If the jackpoints are rotten, cut them out and buy new tubes and plates from Restoration Design in Canada. 70 bucks for both sides.

See the picture below of mine cut out before and after welding. You must check the jacktubes. Or there will be blood.

Then, if metal, just take them to powdercoaters, but if there is rust, you must weld the holes closed in the metal rockers. Powdercoating melts Bondo.