Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Engine Case Terminology
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
tornik550
I am a novice engine builder. I enjoy working on my engine however I do not have much experience and I am learning as I go. Lately, I have been trying to learn about engine cases however I have been running into terms that I have not been able to figure out (ex- sunken registers, spigots- I know what a spigot or register is however I cannot figure out what is meant on this case). I figure that I am not the only one so I thought that I would post some pictures and ask for people to name the indicated areas. I just picked a bunch of parts that may or may not have specific names. I figure that this would be a good start for novices like me. (I do know the name of the several of the things arrowed however I added them for documentation purposes. If you can think of other parts areas that would be useful to name-- please add them)

(Please note that I pirated some of the pics from this website http://www.ephotomotion.com/914engine/

Picture 1 (please fill in the blanks)
Green Arrow-
Orange Arrow-
Red Arrow-
Purple Arrow-
Yellow Arrow-

Picture 2
Yellow Arrow-
Red Arrows-
Green Arrow-
tornik550
Anyone?
914rat
The center main journal is the big yellow arrow.The green is a case support.The purple is a case through bolt support.Small yellow is a cam through bolt support.Picture 2 yellow is a head stud bolt hole.Green is the deck,red is the case bore.Thats what I have always called them not sure if there are any other names for them.
tornik550
Thanks for the reply. When referring to a sunken register- where is that? Also, what is meant by a spigot. In general, I know what a register and spigot is- however I cannot figure out what they are in reference to a type 4 case.

Also, in picture 2, I didn't know if there was a specific name to the back of the main bearing journal- the area indicated by the red arrow in pic 2?

Thanks