Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Sway Bar Question
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Sleepin
I have installed this older H&H 19mm sway bar, but before I get the wheels back on, can someone please explain the function of the adjustment holes here (indicated by the orange arrow)?
McMark
Further away from the bar is softer and doesn't affect handling as much.
Sleepin
That was quick!!! Thank you Mark! pray.gif
wertygrog
I have the same sway bar setup in my car. You will really like it! Any ideas on who sells replacement bushings for it though?
Eric_Shea
That's why I recommended on Facebook you start at the furthest hole.

19's a big bar for street (yeah, yeah... bla, bla, bla - but a stock bar is perfect for street), so I always recommend starting out there and moving in. If those arms are longer than stock, that outside hole will probably give you a great ride.
pcar916
I've been running this bar (in 22mm) since 1994 (it was installed by the PO (a good one BTW). After using it all these years I have several observations.

The first is common to all of the through-the-car types.
- Reinforce the wheel-well mounting areas if they aren't already. I wound up having to weld mine up after a few track-years. Quick repair but stupid not to fix it ahead of time.

The second issue is one familiar to all bushing bars, as opposed to bearing types.
- I use silicon grease to avoid embrittlement brought on by petroleum greases. But that means to combat the dust/dirt attraction of all greased things, I've modified boots from other things to protect the bushing and keep the lube pristine. Technically you should do it on the inside too, but certainly the outside is more acute.
- Make sure the bushing has full contact in the boss and do what you have to to make that happen.

Very easy to do at the front end.

Good luck!
tommy914
Click to view attachment
Eric_Shea