Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Newbie with (I assume) common questions!...with intro pictures!
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
billh1963
I've been a long time 911 owner but have decided I want a 914/4 as a "hobby" car. I was going to buy an older 911SC; however, I rode in a friend's 914 a few weeks ago and decided that's the car for me!

So, I have several questions. I did a search with success in some areas and no luck in others. My questions are as follows:
  • I have some mechanical experience....how hard are the cars to work on?
  • Are 914's like most cars in that you should buy the best you can afford?
  • Other than hell holes, rockers, and floor pans are there any other "gotcha!" places to look for rust?
  • I know this is subjective; but, is any year just "better" than another?
  • Is a car that still has its original fuel injection better than one that has been converted to carbs?
Since everyone likes pictures I have attached pictures of my previous 911's and my current one:

My 993 C4S....the car I should have kept!

IPB Image

2004 996 40th Anniversary...sold

IPB Image

2006 997 Carrera...current

IPB Image
messix
'73 2.0L is the favored car. Lighter and first year of the 2L.

The suspension mounts in the rear and rust in the longetudnals are places to look carefully.

Pelican has a good buyers guide in thier 914 forum
matthepcat
My opinion is always buy to the level of project you are looking for. Visit the recommended Pelican page mentioned above.

Think in the terms of future too. Do you think you will ever want to convert a different engine, or keep it stock?

If you think the first option, buy one that is done or almost done. In the end you will save $, unless you have lots of $$ to spend and a very unique idea.
Mike Bellis
If you have $20k, you should buy Elliot Cannon's car. It's all done and very cheap. I think he is running a 3.2L.