Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 009 or 050
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
tat2dphreak
which is better? I know the Mallory is better than both of them, but I have 3(now 009s) and a good line on a 050... so which one on my 2056 with dual 40idfs?
Rouser
I would go with the 050 with a Pertronix breakerless module; it's what I've been running for the past 4 years.

But that's just me; heck, what do I know.
skline
Last time I said something about this subject, I got reamed by Jake for suggesting the 050. The 050 is now hard to get from what I hear as they are not making them anymore. It is by far better than the 009 for the type 4. The pertronix would be a plus. They say the 050 is better suited for the type 4 with carbs. That is what I run on mine or should I say, ran on mine. Never had any problems with it.
tat2dphreak
yes, I have a compufire to put on the dizzy(either one) I know Jake hates both... but it's all about the bang for buck... and I don't have many $s to buy a mallory yet... I'll get one in the future, probably... but not right now...
Jake Raby
I don't hate either one... BUT after you buy the dizzy and then the breakerless conversion you are wel on the way to the Mallory that is 5000% better!
lapuwali
The 009 will WORK, but you have to have the static timing retarded quite a bit to prevent too much advance (pinging) at light throttle, and you end up with not enough at larger throttle openings (no power). Gas mileage sucks, too. At best, it's a stop-gap until you can get something better. On a 2056, you'd be throwing away a lot of the extra power you paid for. I have an 009 on a carb'd 1.7 waiting for the Mallory backlog to clear.

If you have an EFI dizzy lying around, you can use that with the vacuum ports plugged, or add the vac ports to your IDFs (later ones had them drilled, early one's you'll have to modify).

With the sucky mileage and $2.50 gas, the Mallory would pay for itself pretty quick...
r_towle
Which Mallory?