Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Hell hole repair
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
bare 1
Qiuck Question ----- What guage sheetmetal is a teener or perhaps more to the point, what guage to repair her?? I get to put my fab skills to the test sawzall-smiley.gif smash.gif and learn to run my new MIG welder.gif .. Fortunatly for me and the car I'm not a total novice-- just used to thicker stuff--- like steel boats. There's enough left I can make some patterns Thanks for the info. beerchug.gif Maybe one day I'll get to driving.gif this thing again!!! Yea right . The deeper I dig the more rot I find!!! More questions deeper in the thread. Thanks guys.
saigon71
Original metal used works out to about 19 gauge. Upon advice from 914world, I used 18 ga for structural repairs and 20 gauge for non-structural repairs.

Make sure you turn down the heat when welding the 20 ga!

Best of luck to you on this project...I am in the middle of it. Like you, I just bought a mig welder and learned how to use it.

Practice on scrap metal until you are comfortable. Over and over before you weld anything on the car. welder.gif

Bob
bare 1
Thanks Cam Rahn Bay 70-71
obscurity
I have been using 16ga for all structural repairs. From what I could tell most of the structural panels sold are in the 16ga range. Also I asked on the board a while ago and the general opinion was to 16ga. The non structural can be a little thinner

John
Mike Bellis
You can get the stamped replacement sheet metal from Restoration Design. Looks better and saves time.
obscurity
QUOTE(kg6dxn @ Jun 23 2011, 11:53 PM) *

You can get the stamped replacement sheet metal from Restoration Design. Looks better and saves time.

And I would definitely recommend using them but there are so many parts that are not made or areas where you only need two inches of a simple or expensive panel and its just quicker and easier to make it yourself.

Cheers,
John
Spoke