Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: HOW TO: Install a main wiring harness
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
i love porsche
i need your help..i just got a wiring harness in the mail...and im trying to identify all the parts...i did a little..but i couldnt get far..im not very good at reading the wiring diagrams

so i took pictures of each part and im hoping you guys could possibly tell me where they go

i really appreciate all the help i can get
i love porsche
confused24.gif
i love porsche
confused24.gif
i love porsche
confused24.gif
i love porsche
confused24.gif
i love porsche
confused24.gif
i love porsche
confused24.gif
i love porsche
confused24.gif
i love porsche
this is the last..thanks for your help guys
Dave_Darling
Step 1--buy yourself a Haynes manual and turn to the Wiring Diagrams section. (You can print diagrams out from Pelican's website, or from the PDF manuals available somehwere around here, but Haynes is pretty convenient and is less than $20--well worth it!)

First pic: The ring terminals go on the battery (+) clamp. The connector on the left goes on the relay board; can't see if it's the 12-pin connector at the right-rear or the 14-pin connector on the front of the board. If the latter, it's part of the main wiring harness for the whole car. Talk to Aaaaahndy about reinstalling the main harness.

Pic 2: Unknown, looks aftermarket to me but I'm not certain on that.

Pic 3: Fuel injection wiring harness. Looks like it's for an L-jet 1.8 motor. The plug at the far end plugs into the ECU (the "brain") and the other plugs go into various parts of the injection system.

Pic 4: Main harness, possibly the rear trunk end of it.

Pic 5: Main harness; I'm thinking that the branches toward the right side of the pic are where the harness splits up after exiting the center tunnel and going up to the top side of the engine shelf?