Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Front Sway Bar Installation
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Dave-O
Hi all,
I'm looking to install a front sway bar on my 70'. After going through all the effort to track one down and install it i would much rather end up with a 19mm bar rather than the stock 17mm.

First question: Does anyone have a 19mm bar lying around?

Second question: What 911's came with a stock 19mm through the body front bar? (this information would make it much easier to track down a used bar)

Third question: If i am unable to find a 19mm bar, does anyone have a stock bar that they'd be willing to part with real cheap? (sorry, i'm a poor college student who will probably be addicted to autocross within the next week rocking nana.gif )

On a side note, I'm going to my first autocross this weekend: the MOWOG event in St. Cloud MN. Any members attending? It would be nice to have someone with experience to give me some pointers. It should be fun to get out there in my car with no sway bars and cheap street tires MDB2.gif.

Thanks

David
Bruce Allert
I bought my front & rear stock bars from either this boards classifieds or Pelican Parts classifieds (jes' don't remember). Got both bars complete for $100. Sometimes you see them along with 19mm on Ebay.

As for AXing, once you start you'll be hooked .... FOREVER!!! beer.gif
Aaron Cox
first of all... i know the poor college thing. doin that too <_<

secondly, a stock bar for a 914 is 15mm.
third...biggest STOCK through body bar was an 18mm from a 1976 930 (930= 911 turbo)
fourth...

weltmeister makes an aftermarket 19mm bar.
some say, if your going through all the work of an install, get an adjustable BIG bar and set it at its softest. (so you can go bigger than a 19 at any time)

me? i love my tarretbar 23mm

www.tarett.com
Trekkor
Not for the student budget, but I really like my 31mm Smart Racing front bar! smilie_pokal.gif
SirAndy
QUOTE(Dave-O @ Jul 5 2004, 10:34 AM)