Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: mystery motor
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
rs182
I am parting out my slant nose 914 but ran across this 72 on CL went to see it. Motor runs but the owner is not sure what size it is. He bought it for a project and never got time. Some body just bolted a carb on to what looks like the stock FI manifold. The injectors are still there (just not hooked up obviously) There is no serial number on the top of the motor and the dip stick is on the front like a type 1.

What do you guys think? He thinks its a 1.8 but the dip stick is throwing me off. Could it be a type 1 with type 4 cooling system?? I am new to 914s and my current 1.8 and some internet scouring is all the info I have on these motors

Car is kinda ruff (crappy color change and a few dents) interior is pretty stripped but only minor rust on the passenger side jack area clean hell hole. He wants 1200 with a tail shift that jumps out of gear

thanks
Jason
Mike Bellis
Could be a T1 engine with T3 tin?

thisthreadisworthlesswithoutpics.gif
Cap'n Krusty
It might be to your advantage to show us some pictures. That we can viciously pick it apart for no apparent reason other than sheer perversity. BTW, the dipstick location could be for either a bus or a T4. '72 busses had the SN on the shroud.

The Cap'n
avidfanjpl
If there is no serial number to see, then it is probably either sanded off, or it is a true spare Type IV case with no number.

Did not know they existed til today when Bruce Stone came to visit and told me he has a numberless replacement case.

Or it was burned off.

There are ways to tell what the case is, and part of it is, are the plugs truly vertical or do they go into the block on an angle?

Straight down is 1.7 or 1.8.

2.0L is at a 45 degree angle or thereabouts.

Very easy to see.

John
rs182
QUOTE(kg6dxn @ Oct 6 2011, 09:11 PM) *

Could be a T1 engine with T3 tin?

thisthreadisworthlesswithoutpics.gif