Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 283
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
rey
okay I have found that the 283 Is a block that I have is the one that can accept the 327 crank.,I not sure if that means anything. I believe that I have a stock crank. It has been bored over, cylinders are at 4 inches. So I have the cam,crank,rods ,and pistons back in and torked. This is an accomplishment for me cuz this is my first time at it.
914werke
UH ...your topic is kinda OT & NPC blink.gif confused24.gif
Eric_Shea
UH ...your topic is kinda OT & NPC

With as many 914-8's as there are on this list I tend to doubt it... wink.gif

This is probably one of the best places to get -8 conversion info confused24.gif
thomasotten
QUOTE(rey @ Aug 10 2004, 07:46 AM)
has been bored over, cylinders are at 4 inches.

Let's talk mm and cc, not inches! Oh wait, you are trying to use one of "those engines".
GWN7
If I remember the 302's were a 283 crank with a 4" bore
rey
UH ...your topic is kinda OT & NPC

I guess what I tried to say is with a 283 block bored over and a 327 crank what cubic inch dose it make . This is a question for the v8 crowd sorry if it is inappropriate. Is the combination more desirable to hotroders. Is the block rare?
JWest
327 crank (3.25" stroke) with 4" bore makes a... 327!

Before Chevy made the DZ302, hot rodders used to bore out 283s to 4" bore and use Ross (or others) pistons. They would call it a 301. But it is the same thing as a 302 - 3" stroke by 4" bore.

The block is not rare, and if I were building a small journal engine I would rather start with a early 327 block that was 4" bore from the factory.
DougC