Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 914 Commuter?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Pages: 1, 2
xsJerry
I have been wanting a 914 for exactly 21 years. Now that I am in midlife crisis mode, I am seriously in the market for one (downright obsessed really). My question is: Will it be a viable daily commuter (20 mi. each way)? If I wanted something economical and trouble free, I'd by a Toyota or something. But as it is, I am already getting board with my E46 BMW 325i. I am an Auto shop teacher, so I have resources, but the teacher's salary is limiting.
It would be great to park my Porsche next to all those Saturns and Priuses in the faculty parking lot.
Any input would be helpful. Thanks.
JawjaPorsche
I drove my teener to work for 15 years but it is 38 now. Showing age like me! Like everything, parts do wear out. In the latter years, I drove it to work on beautiful sunny days but not everyday. I am retired now and I only drive it to town for groceries or coffee, only 3 miles each way. Never in the rain!

Since you are an auto shop teacher, you probably can spot and fix problems before you break down on the road! Not to mention your labor is free and you have a lift at work! I was a teacher and I made good friends with the shop teacher so I could use the lift after school and weekends!

They are great cars and you will be junkie like us!

Terry

QUOTE(xsJerry @ Dec 8 2011, 12:56 PM) *

I have been wanting a 914 for exactly 21 years. Now that I am in midlife crisis mode, I am seriously in the market for one (downright obsessed really). My question is: Will it be a viable daily commuter (20 mi. each way)? If I wanted something economical and trouble free, I'd by a Toyota or something. But as it is, I am already getting board with my E46 BMW 325i. I am an Auto shop teacher, so I have resources, but the teacher's salary is limiting.
It would be great to park my Porsche next to all those Saturns and Priuses in the faculty parking lot.
billh1963