Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Also new to 914 world
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
dr.tim
Hello 914 world,

I recently purchased a '72 914-4 that was converted at some point to 2.0L. Unfortunately, the inspection and purchase was done by proxy and the car is still 1200 miles away in California. I will bring it up to begin work when convenient, probably this summer. One of downsides of living in Montana is that I have to look for rust free cars elsewhere. The other is that I have long commutes to race tracks.

This is all that I have seen of the car...Pictures:

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image

WHY 914?
I have been instructing HPDEs for ~6 years now with ACNA, and occasionally with PCA:
Laguna Seca
Sears Point
Spring Mountain
Buttonwillow
Thunderhill
Arroyo Seco
Inde Motorsports Ranch
Heartland Park
Miller Motorsports Park
Mid Ohio
Nelson Ledges

(at Spring Mountain)
IPB Image

I do fairly well with my current car, but it has fundamental limitations of the understeer kind. It can be overcome with technique, but that tends to consume tires. I am at the point where I have achieved all that I can with the current car, and need something that rotates. I am also getting tired of catching BMWs at every corner and having them pull away down the straights. I was considering several new cars (CaymanS, TTRS), but I really want to move toward a dedicated track car that I don't have to drive to the track and prep when I get there.

Modern cars carry a fair bit of extra weight which has impacts on the track, as well as requiring more substantial vehicles for towing. So something older fit the bill and would leave more money for tow vehicle and trailer. I was still on the fence between old and new cars when the car I bought fell into my lap and made the decision for me. Luckily, I have an understanding wife, and I assured her that this would be a cheaper project than buying a Cayman S new. (A lot more unique as well.)