Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Tangerine Racing cable linkage
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
'73-914kid
Okay Everyone, here we are. The Tangerine Racing dual carb cable/pulley setup. I finally saved up enough of my spare change and recyclables to step up to the plate in exchange for my worn out Hex-Bar setup. This will be a pictorial guide to help aid in the Assembly of the linkage.

Some background:
I've been running CB Performances Hex Bar setup for 2 years now, as a daily driver setup. I modified it to correct the arm geometry in an attempt to synchronize the arms at every throttle arrangements, and for those 2 years, It worked extremely well. As of late though, I've noticed that I was having to re-synch the carbs at 200 mile intervals. Yup, the hex bar was wearing. This was how it looked with the hex bar still in place:
IPB Image

As you can see, my heim joints were also wearing, and I had to have springs on the down link itself in an effort to keep the rod ends pre-loaded.
IPB Image
Rather than take the time to upgrade all the heim joints, bar, and linkage, to a quality that I would desire, I figured I'd go with something more accurate. Along comes the CFR kit. First thing's first, remove the old hex bar, and set it aside. I don't think I'll ever go back to it, but I figure I'll save it anyways.

IPB Image
And here's how everything comes from CFR. packaged up nicely, and with good instructions. The cable and sheathes aren't pictured, but you get the gist of what everything looks like.

The installation of the pulleys requires some work however, and is not quite "bolt on" but completely doable. The first thing you have to do is line up the holes in the pulley for the barrel clamp. I accomplished this by using blue sharpie at a 45 degree angle. Easily drawn with a protractor. The picture shows the correct orientation in relation to the carb body.
IPB Image