Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: I didn't even know I loved 914's
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Germancar-Junkie
Hi All, I am new to the world of car restoration and 914's. While cruising c's list I found a deal I couldn't refuse, and the rest is history. She runs, but she's rough. I trailered her home, drove her throught the neighborhood a few times then put her in the garage and have spent a few weekends chipping away at the cosmetic flaws. There's a lot of rust. But not in the places that I keep reading about (hell hole, floor pans, etc.) Currently, I'm torn. Do I put band-aids on the boo-boos and spend 7 months out of this year driving it like I stole it? Or start the grueling project of disassembly, rust repair and re-assembly? In the case of the latter, I won't get to enjoy her for a couple years... confused24.gif
rohar
IMHO, restore it piece by piece. No more work than can be done in 2 days at a time. That way you can drive it like you stole it while you're bringing it back. Once everything is mechanically up to date, tear it down and do body paint all at once. Keeps the little buggers off the jack stands.

Oh, and

welcome.png
no1uno
ahh the age old question, to restore or drive. i say compromise: buy another so you can do both!
mrbubblehead
QUOTE(rohar @ Jan 14 2012, 10:06 AM) *

IMHO, restore it piece by piece. No more work than can be done in 2 days at a time. That way you can drive it like you stole it while you're bringing it back. Once everything is mechanically up to date, tear it down and do body paint all at once. Keeps the little buggers off the jack stands.

Oh, and

welcome.png
agree.gif agree.gif agree.gif
Tom
welcome.png
Get it in drivable condition and drive it for a year while you are learning more about these cars and what you can do to them, then make a decision as to what you want to do. You may enjoy it so much you will put off your restoration/mods for a couple of years!