Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Targa top question - how to store in trunk?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
auto_cran
Hi World !

I'm a newbie here - we picked up a '74 914 1.8 last week. Fun car so far! Really getting a kick out of it and fixing the little things with it (odometer, etc..) Many thanks to the tech articles and search engine on here!

Enjoying the nice weather, we took the car out for our first "fun" drive - so of course we took the top off. But we couldn't figure out how to store it in the trunk.

I see the clips near the engine bay, and at the rear, the rubber pads - just couldn't figure out which end goes where? Also doesn't help that the springs are not on the trunk - so someone has to hold the trunk up.

Can someone tell me specifically how to store the top in the trunk? Which end goes where?

Thanks!

Chris
(auto_cran)
TheCabinetmaker
Its not rocket science. The front goes to the front, and the rear goes to the rear. Easy
6freak
QUOTE(vsg914 @ Mar 4 2012, 03:50 PM) *

Its not rocket science. The front goes to the front, and the rear goes to the rear. Easy

he said he was new ...ease up slap.gif

welcome.png Cris you have come to the right spot for ? and conversation lots of very savy 914 guys(Not me av-943.gif )..they are a blast to drive huh...you really need to do a pelvic exam on your little hotrod to make sure its safe and sound to drive ...check the spot where the jack goes into the side of the rocker ...get an icepick and start poken round there and under the battery tray and where all the cables go through the fire wall behind the seats and under said seats ...good luck
MikeC smile.gif
Jeffs9146
Some times you have to pivot the latches to fit into the cups in the trunk!
SirAndy
QUOTE(Jeffs9146 @ Mar 4 2012, 04:20 PM) *
pivot the latches to fit into the cups in the trunk!