Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 1974 Restortaion/Build Thread
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
9fourteen
I have finally started to rebuild my 74 914. I got my garage setup, tools ready, just need to find the time now. I figured I would start a thread to keep track of progress. I bounce around between many projects and usually busy on other things so I expect this to take many years.

Paid $900 for it and drove it home. I drove it a few times before it developed a serious oil leak and has been sitting in the garage ever since. I am finding a lot of hidden rust on this car. Typical spots but a lot that has been hidden by previous repaints and repairs. Hell hole is shot, outer longs in bad shape, floor pan needs repair, etc. Like I said, typical 914 rot. I am a complete beginner at this so it will be a learning experience all the way. I plan on doing it all myself and getting in way over my head.

Here is a picture of the car as it was bought about 10 years ago.
9fourteen
The first repair I attempted was to rebuild the front bumper mount that was rusted out. I started by cutting out all the rusted area.

9fourteen
hammered out a patch piece with a new support bracket.

9fourteen
I got it welded in. Not a perfect job but it works. Took forever to figure out how to weld that thin metal. blew a lot of holes. had to make some additional patch pieces, etc. After several hours of welding, grinding, rewelding, grinding some more I go it looking pretty good. I figured this was the best place to start since it will be covered with the bumper so if I made some mistakes learning it wouldn't matter so much.