Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Slight Problem
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Dustin
Hey,

So, I'm a total noob.

About a year and a half ago I took my car apart. I replaced my first gear synchro. And rebuilt my entire engine.

Today I started the car for the first time. It started easily and idles. I think I got the timing pretty close. However, when I put the car in first gear and ease off the clutch it wants to roll backwards.

What did I screw up? Is my engine turning the wrong way or did I flip something around in my transmission?
pt_700
oh man! i feel for 'ya dustin.

is it going backwards in only 1st gear? what about the other 4? what happens in reverse?

have to ask the obvious... 1st is all the way towards the driver and down, correct (2nd in a "normal" car)?
Dustin
Is my diff flipped??
Dustin
Yeah, I know where first is... I'm going to try it in second.
SirAndy
QUOTE(Dustin @ Apr 17 2012, 04:10 PM) *
So, I'm a total noob.

In that case, you do know that 1st is to the left and towards you, correct?

Left and forward is reverse ...
biggrin.gif

PS: Dang, i got beat to it!
Dustin
Yes, Backwards in 2nd too.
Jake Raby
You installed the diff on the wrong die of the gearbox.. It is "flipped".
Dustin
So, I have to flip the diff front to back or side to side?
Dustin
Nevermind, I'm starting to remember how this thing goes together...

I did this part over a year ago.
ejm
Why did you pull the diff to do a 1st gear sychro? confused24.gif
Dustin
I was curious. I knew nothing about cars when I started this. I bought this car just so I could take it apart. I replaced all the oil seals too. I was going to do other synchros but I got intimidated by the gear cluster and decided to just put it back together.

At some point I'll do the rest. I want to drive it though. sad.gif Obviously this was wise of me.
pete-stevers
ITs to bad you didnt go to Docs "tranny" convention....they even let you wear blond wigs...and rebuild trannies
76-914