Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: what would you do with 13 1.7/18 engines?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
mclane
Hello folks,

This 1973 p914 marks my entry to the world of air cooled auto adventure. after a year search i found a well maintianed driver. i was an air craft mechanic for 10 years and spent many of those years hunched over aircooled airplane engines. i have always wondered about the aircooled car world. the p914 was a perfect choice for me, mid engine, aircooled and it can fit my 6'2" frame.

So here is where the 13 engines come from. after 500 miles on my new purchase i find non ferrous metal in the screen. most pieces were 1/8' wide.

after a search i found 13 engines at a very very good price.

So my question is, What do i do with 13 engines? My ultimate goal is to build a spare engine from a collection of the best parts

but what should i do with the rest?

IPB Image
914junkie
I'm not sure what to do with 13 914 engines but your car just became the new wallpaper on my phone and those wheels are sahweet! aktion035.gif

And... welcome.png
euro911
13 is an unlucky number happy11.gif

Use what you need to build up a spare engine (or two) and list the rest in the classifieds confused24.gif

welcome.png
smj
welcome.png

Rebuild the motors you don't need and sell them off? If they don't move on 914World's classsifieds, they might be popular with the Bug and sand rail crowd?

(Absolutely spoken as one who has not yet tackled an engine rebuild... slap.gif )
ThePaintedMan
I would buy a 1.7 off of you if it ran and was fairly cheap. Trouble would be shipping it to Florida. Nice car dude!
rwilner
There is a market for type 4 cores. Beetle guys do conversions and ghia/teener/bus guys build them into big 4s.

The Cases and 1.8 cylinders (good for boring to 96mm) have value as parts.