Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: What model OPTIMA battery fits a 914-4
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
chris914
What model OPTIMA gell cell battery fits a 72' 914-4?
SirAndy
the orange top has the terminals in the right configuration for the 914 (reversed),
i have the red top which is the same except it has the standard terminal configuration.
i simply turned it 180 deg. ... my wires were long enough, but your mileage may vary ...

cool.gif Andy
fiid
agree.gif I have a red top turned 180degrees. It's actually a little better since the terminals are under the lid instead of under the side panel - meaning there is slightly less chance of shorting the positive terminal to the body with a wrench - which is generally regarded as a bad start to the day.
skline
They are all the same physical size, so get whichever one you want. I use a red top which is the most common.

And always remove the negative side first!!!
chris914
Is there a model number or is it just by the color? Also will the stock hold down work?

The reason I ask is the the OPTIMA web page can not find a match for the 914.

Please enter the following information about your car,
and find which OPTIMA is right for you.

PORSCHE
All Models
1976-1970 914
There are no matches available for this vehicle.
skline
QUOTE(chris914 @ Oct 18 2004, 11:13 PM)
Is there a model number or is it just by the color? Also will the stock hold down work?

34 and yes
Andyrew
34 is what I got.. Red top..
McMark
NAPA carries a competing line called Orbital. Same design. Just FYI, in case you can't find the Optima locally.
smg914
Here's the one you want.........

OPTIMA Red Top
Model number: 34R
NSN: 6140 01 475 9357

The 34R is the one with the reversed posts which is needed for the 914.
ArtechnikA
QUOTE(markd@mac.com @ Oct 18 2004, 11:22 PM)
NAPA carries a competing line called Orbital. Same design. Just FYI, in case you can't find the Optima locally.