Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Are 914's really this "twitchy" in the rain?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
billh1963
Having never really driven a 914 in the wet, I have no experience to say if a 914 is this loose or not. Anyone have any real world experience in this matter?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MyxB00hgwV4

6freak
yes they swap ends very fast .but i think he has a lock n diff in the car...which makes it step out even easier IMO.If i had half a brian i would post some AX runs i did in the rain with Kumho 710`s on the car ...GoPro vids ....Ill try again
smile.gif
ChrisFoley
I didn't think it looked loose. In one scene the car understeered through a chicane.

With 250hp on tap its pretty easy to get the rear to come around anytime you want.
billh1963
In the video the driver talks about the car having poor handling in the wet. I know that mid engine cars will transition very quickly; however, I thought that the handling in the rain would be comparable to a normal rear wheel driver car or even better due to the weight distribution.
ripper911
I drive my car in the rain, certainly more stable than an old beetle.
However, for driving on ice the rear engine weight bias certainly helps.
Go do some donuts in a field in a 914, they spin like a top, very controllable.
zymurgist
I know of at least one member who went off the road in a /6 conversion in wet weather.
ChrisFoley
914s handle great in the rain, with the right setup and a good driver!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KuNJ5nEqxHU

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=77oRaG_PoSg
SLITS
I know of one member that flat spun in the middle of the road after passing thru water in a 4 cyl ... all I he did was step on the gas.
Porschef
QUOTE(Racer Chris @ Jul 30 2012, 02:24 PM) *

WOW! Nice driving. Great stuff
damesandhotrods
They did mention very quickly in the beginning that it was a rally car. Perhaps the difference in chassis set up is the cause?
SUNAB914