Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: OT Entrepreneur business questions
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
GaroldShaffer
Julie and I have been talking about different ways for some extra income. Currently I am a full time engingeering manager and she works 3 days a week as an accounts payable clerk. She also sells Longaberger baskets for her "spending money". We live the American dream, and are doing fine. Just like everyone (well almost everyone) we want more.

We don't want her to go back to work full time, we have 3yr old. If we could find a way to replace her income that would be great, but mainly we are looking for something to make some extra $$ for trips, college savings, and so on. So now to my question.....

We are looking at a small vending business, mainly just gum ball vending. The startup cost is low, under $1000 for 4 machinces and supplies. Each machine could bring over $400+ each month, is low cost to mantain, and we can do it here locally.

I know these are very general questions but has anyone every ran a vending type business? I have never really done any business for myself other than cutting lawns when I was a kid. Any advice for a startup business?

Thanks

edit: link to what we are looking at http://www.navending.com/
seanery
Placed in the right location (not your front door) I think you could do well. I would want to make sure that you picked a secure location as well as a high traffic location. Buy quality stuff, like Ford gumballs.
djm914-6
GUMBALL! Did someone say GUMBALL? Yeah baby, coast to coast run. Lets go!

All kidding asside, I've given a lot of thought to this topic, bought many books and magazines. Never acted, but dropped lots of cash. This could be an interesting topic.
ppickerell
$400 a month from one machine? Thats a lotta goomba for gumballs!
GaroldShaffer
Placed right, its doable. They would be a double head machine.
morph